Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2008, 03:34 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,226

My System Specs

Default

What case are you planning on installing this into?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2008, 04:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikitos View Post
the tubing and coolant (or coolant additive(s)) and clamps (not necessary, but they're cheap for peace of mind) :)
just remember to get enough excess tubing in case you have to do the entire loop again. Clamps you can get from a local hardware store, home depot etc. I prefer worm type clamps, cheap and re-usable. Or you can go the zip ties way, either way you will be safe.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2008, 04:27 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

hahaha always always buy more tubing than you think you need.

mockups, screwups and under cutting is ALWAYS bound to happen.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2008, 04:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,226

My System Specs

Default

Measure twice, cut once.......... :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2008, 05:14 PM
EDMCR's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 18
Default

its going into Antec 900 Case and for tubing it comes with 10Ft will this be enough or should I get 20 (seems excessive)?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2008, 05:20 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,226

My System Specs

Default

10 feet is probably what you'll need if everything goes according to plan.

20 feet is what most folks end up needing for their first WC build....
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2008, 06:08 PM
EDMCR's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 18
Default

hah ok so basically other then the blocks everything I need is there other then tubing clamps? how much feser Fluid do I need?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2008, 06:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 89
Default

One 1L bottle should be enough for one fill up, but two will make sure you have enough for refills/top offs.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2008, 06:58 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
10 feet is probably what you'll need if everything goes according to plan.

20 feet is what most folks end up needing for their first WC build....
On my first build I got 6ft (crazy I know) and I ended up with about 1ft to spare (which I ended up using anyways). My key, measure 5 times, cut 1-2" more than you need, and then keep cutting it down until its right. It worked, but took a lot of time and one mistake would have set me back however long the tubing would take to come + extra shipping.

I'd suggest two bottles of fluid. Even if you don't use all of one (which is likely) there are many things that might happen leading you to need/want more. If you are redoing your loop (adding another block for CF) or you have a leak (knock on wood) or you get a new case or a thousand other things I don't want to list, you'll be happy to have the extra coolant. That is why I just use distilled water. Costs a couple bucks for 4L and I can literally have 4L more with money I find in my couch and a 10 minute bike ride.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2008, 07:24 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,226

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
My key, measure 5 times, cut 1-2" more than you need, and then keep cutting it down until its right.
That's how I do it as well.... :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes