Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2008, 07:30 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Dual loop. It's actually pretty crowded in there and I'm not sure if I did the best on routing the tubing, but here's my worklog. The pics starting on page 8 until the end show how I fit it all in. I actually have changed it slightly because I sold one of my 3870 X2's with block, but that should give you an idea.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2008, 08:02 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I recommend Eheim 1250 if you want power and durability. I have run mine 24/7 for 3 years and it has power enough to go through 3 water blocks and 2 big heatercores in a very big loop no problem. It is a little bigger than most but worth it IMO.

I also agree with using reservoirs, it is easier to bleed and deal with in general.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 06:13 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

ok

thank you for all your tips and recommendation

i might consider a reservoir, but im still thinking about the rad . 240 internal or 360 external??

if im on a 300$ budget which one, and which part you recommend me?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 07:02 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Lowfats got it right the Mcr-320 kicks ass as well the swiftech Res took me forever on my first loop to bleed all the bubbles from the intergrated rad/res of the swiftech Mcr-220 anyways the Mcw-60 is also an awesome block too.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 07:13 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

What about temporarily putting in a reservoir? You could probably jury rig something out of a couple quick connect fittings. That fill port reservoir does not look like it would actually help speed bleeding because the fluid would not be flowing through it.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 09:03 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

ok the MCR 320 seem like a good option but if its performing almost the same has the PA120.2 or the Feser 240, it take less space, you need 3 fan instead of 2 and it cant be mount internel without serius mod to my case

whats your opinion about this?

pa120.2 external - i need a rad box + 2 fan

pa12.2 internal - already have the fan in front of my case

mcr320 external - need radbox + 3 fan
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 09:38 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Well, if you're just cooling the CPU and one GPU, the 120.2 should be fine. My suggestion is to mount it in the front drivebays with the air blowing out of the case (so as not to dump the heat into the case).
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 09:43 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

yeah but that will screw my current case airflow. since it was design to flow from the front to the rear.

maybe a PA120.2 external could fit it too. im a bit confuse about the mounting of this rad

i have already see @ diy-street.com alot of water cooled stacker with rad in front and fan pushing air into the case.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 10:54 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 144
Default Reply

Get an MCR320 hands-down... It performs the same if not better than the Thermochill 120.2. Also for GPU block wait for the D-Tek FuZion GFX V2. Better performance, yet lower restriction. Impressive.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 11:20 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Of course the 320 beats the 120.2, but it won't fit inside his case.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes