Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 06:13 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default Best Loop Setup on Cosmos S

Alright ive drawn two loop setups one does not have the reservoir right before the pump and one has the res right before the pump but it is kinda messy.





Loop 1




This is loop 2 now SSwilson has mentioned it might not be possible to mount the rad at the back of the case as of right now i dont see why not but i dont have the case yet it still not shipped so i cant really tell.....

I like the loop i drew on the first one seems more clean to me i couuullld add a swiftech Res inside the case right on top of the pump that way IIFFF a reservoir hassss to be before a pump then that would work but id like to know is having 2 reservoirs in yer loop bad as my swiftech rad which is sitting in the back already comes with an intergrated res. Cheers!:help:
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 08:50 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

I don't see the reservoir in any of the loops you have drawn. All there is are the CPU and GPU blocks, two rads, and a pump..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 11:17 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiniti View Post
I don't see the reservoir in any of the loops you have drawn. All there is are the CPU and GPU blocks, two rads, and a pump..
Hard to see, but there's an integrated reservoir in the back rad. MCR220-QPRES.

I believe the reasoning behind having the res right before the pump is to avoid getting air bubbles running thru the pump and burning it out. Am I right? For a $20 res, I'd throw one in to maybe save a $75 pump. But I totally agree that loop 1 looks much cleaner.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 11:28 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Oh yea.. I didn't see that . My bad. Anyways, yea I would think loop 1 looks better, but if that rad at the back is the res, and it goes to the GPU block first, the tubing will go up, therefore harder for the coolant to reach the pump. It might not even reach the pump.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 12:42 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

The main reason for having the reservoir before the pump is that it guarantees a steady supply of fluid so that the pump isn't run dry. Most watercooling pumps actually work almost entirely by pushing the water out, and don't do as well at suction, so having the reservoir immediately before makes it easier for gravity to assist with the process. Also, having an open space in the loop (i.e. a reservoir with some air near the top) can do funny things to the flow and fluid pressure downstream, so it's generally for the best to make sure there's no other important components between the res and the pump.

For that case, I'd seriously consider getting a separate reservoir (i.e. Microres), flipping the double rad upside down and around, to try and aim the hoses directly into the case through the provided holes. The built-in reservoir won't do anything in that position, but it won't hurt either. Use the first diagram for routing, and stick the reservoir just after the GPU block and before the pump.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 01:14 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,577
Default

correct me if I am wrong.. but isn't the top side of the pump the inlet and the side the outlet?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 08:25 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Depends on the pump. For a MCP350/355 with a top, that's how it's laid out. But for an MCP655 resting on its base, the inlet is on the side.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 08:35 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,880

My System Specs

Default

Excuse my MS Paint skills...
But how about this?



Basically a slightly modified "Loop 2" so that the tubing isn't going all over the place, yet the pump still is directly connected to the res.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 09:32 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

The biggest problem is that the Cosmos S's back panel isn't very friendly when it comes to passing the tubes in and out of the base near the bottom. The PSU hole is directly below the expansion slots, and the watercooling holes are up near the top.
Attachment 2276
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133

Last edited by MpG; January 3, 2014 at 09:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 11:32 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Mpg you hit it right on the spot and thankyou Sugar J im definetely gonna add a Micro res to that loop like this.





And Jdrom17 the loop youve drawn uses the 320 rad to cool both the cpu and gpu where as my first loop lets the 320 cool the cpu and the 220 cool the gpu i just wanted to know ifff the res had to be before the pump and since it does ill add a micro res but having 2 Reservoirs in your loop is not going to be a problem right??? im guessin its gonna take me longer to get air bubbles out since my intergrated rad/res took almost a whole day to get all the bubbles out.

And yea enaberif the inlet is on the side for the Mcp655 and outlet on the top.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.


Last edited by Dashock; July 2, 2008 at 12:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes