Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2008, 09:31 PM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

I use 2 rads, one in the case and one hangin' out in the back. Works great! One for cpu, one for gpu(s)
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2008, 10:19 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

You have 2 loops.. I'm going to have only one loop.. Do you think an MCP665 will be able to handle a fuzion v2 CPU block, swiftech MCW-60-R, and 2 MCR220s?

If I really need to have two loops, where can I put a second pump? I am planning on putting my pump on the part where a fan is suppose to be at the bottom.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 07:07 AM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

wrong, I have one loop, one pump, 2 rads.
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 03:59 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Ahh.. I see. Which pump do you use then?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 08:00 PM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

MPC255. I would go as far as to say that the extra rad makes no difference whatsoever to flow rates. I get nearly the same temps with the pump at minimum speed, or maximum speed, so I think its safe to say this pump is overkill for all but the most restrictive loops. Mine is pushing through 2 rads, a D-tek V2, and 3 EK full-coverage GPU blocks.
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 10:30 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Hmm.. What fans are you using? I'm planning on using these fans for my rads... One of the rads are push, and the other is pull.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 10:48 PM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

I use Yate Loons. Most watercooling guys will recommend them, they are simply the best compromise of noise/power/price. If you are just buying one or two then it doesnt matter much but if you can save 5 bucks each buying 8 fans, it adds up to another water block, or a better pump ;) They push more air than any of the fancy silent fans I've bought (scythe, artic cooling, etc), and I can slow them down with a controller if I choose, then they become silent. I talked to Linus at ncix, and he did some tests apparently and found that the yate loons had much better static pressure than some of the 'silent' competition, that's why they work so well with radiators.

Push, pull, doesnt make a difference as far as I can tell, if you just oversize your rads, then the fans become less and less important.

I love the pump, the ability to slow it down is just awesome.
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 10:51 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Hehe... Can't you just plug a pump into a fan controller to slow it down?.. So.. what your saying is.. If I have 2 MCR220 rads, then it doesn't really matter what fans I put on.. even my 40CFM fans will work ehh? awesome..
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 11:22 PM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

Ya I suppose I could do that with the pump, but I don't have a fan controller yet (building one). I unplugged all my fans and gain less than 10 degrees. If I leave only one fan per rad, I gain about 3 degrees. So really, the difference in temps between fans is going to be very minimal unless you are really over-taxing your rad. With the pump turned down and the fans off, its really, really, really quiet ;)
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2008, 11:08 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Woo... I'd like that peace..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes