Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2008, 03:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 33
Default Poor Water Cooling Performance

I just did a W/C mATX build using a AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE and a Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H motherboard. For watercooling parts I have a 120mm Swifttech radiator with the build in reservoir, a DB-1 pump, and a Magicool waterblock for the CPU. The problem is that one core runs about 10-12 degrees hotter than the other at full load and I believe that it is holding back my overclocking. I tried reapplying the thermal paste and it made no difference. Overclocked to 3.1 GHz under load one core is reaching a temperature of 61 degrees and the other is only 48; this is at stock voltage. I didn't have a chance to try it out on air cooling but I believe that it is running way to hot.

Anybody have any experience with this CPU when used with watercooling. I know that the W/C setup isn't the greatest but I believe it should handle the 5000+ BE no problem. I'd rather not rip appart my whole W/C system if I don't have to since it was a pain to install but I was hoping that I could reach an overclock of 3.3-3.4 GHz with this system. Anyone have any ideas what may be wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2008, 04:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

First thing I'd check is the flatness of both the cpu and the waterblock.

I'd also be having a look at the mount... is that one of the "snaps into the stock mount" set-ups? If so, you may have to find a way to ensure an even pressure on all sides of the mount.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2008, 05:04 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

I just almost the same build as yers but i used the Mcw-220 intergrated reservoir my cores have a difference of anywhere from 5-6 degrees as well at load but 12 seems kinda odd so try reseating it and check the seat of the block on the cpu. and what thermal paste did yu use???
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2008, 06:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 33
Default

I am using Arctic Silver right now because it is all I had on hand. Well maybe tomorrow I will grab some sandpaper and lap the water block and the CPU seeing as I am going to have to rip everything apart.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2008, 07:46 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JephDiesel View Post
I am using Arctic Silver right now because it is all I had on hand. Well maybe tomorrow I will grab some sandpaper and lap the water block and the CPU seeing as I am going to have to rip everything apart.
Lapping the waterblock is a terrible idea. A quick look around on XS will result in tons of posts explaining exactly why. But long story short, lapping waterblocks will make the performance worse, unless you have a ton of experience, in which case it MIGHT yield better temps, but even then it depends on the block.

I'd suggest just doing a remount.

After you remount it, run OCCT/Prime95/Orthos and play around with how tight each part is. That is the best way to get a good mount.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2008, 08:16 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

I second the remount. Waterblocks are notoriously random between mounts, and can be picky about how much paste is used. Take a look at the spread of thermal material when you remove the block to see what kind of contact you're getting.

I don't believe Magicool actually laps their waterblocks, but the reviews I've seen suggest that they come in reasonable shape, so you might want to hold off on that until you've exhausted a few other options.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2008, 08:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 33
Default

Alright thanks for the advice, I'll try another remount tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2008, 08:38 PM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

The artic silver tends to go on way too thick, either try a thinner paste or make sure it goes on very very thin. I've actually had great results by applying it, then rubbing it almost all off before mounting.
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2008, 02:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 33
Default

Well I had a chance to remount the water block a few times today and it didn't seem to make a difference. I tried using different amounts of thermal paste and played around with the mounting pressure but nothing really helped. I starting to think that it may just be the water block itself, maybe I should have went with the swifttech water block.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2008, 01:48 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JephDiesel
Well I had a chance to remount the water block a few times today and it didn't seem to make a difference. I tried using different amounts of thermal paste and played around with the mounting pressure but nothing really helped. I starting to think that it may just be the water block itself, maybe I should have went with the swifttech water block.

yes i'd say move on to something better then your current WB, also keep in mind the hosing size you have now to plug n play no hassle changing out other parts
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes