Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2018, 04:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 12
Default Serial to parallel loop

So I want to switch to a paralell loop (only for looks) as I am aware temps will be lower and it depends on how restrictive both blocks are. My question is will it be sore on the D5 pump vs serial?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2018, 04:44 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 698

My System Specs

Default

Ignoring the usual back and fourth about serial vs parallel loops in regards to cooling, parallel will actually be less restrictive for the pump. Definitely no concern about that. The only concern (as you've already identified) is making sure that both blocks are getting flow. If the system is pretty new, good to go. If this system has been running for a long while or if you've used fluids with lots of dye, I'd clean the blocks out to make sure neither is partially plugged off.
__________________
MSI GT72 6QE-033US - 6700HQ, GTX980M, 1080p G-Sync IPS, 16GB DDR4, 1TB Evo 850 SSD, 256GB Toshiba SSD, 2TB Barracuda, BD-Rom/DVD-RW
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2018, 08:19 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,418

My System Specs

Default

why not go with a dual pump design? just get one's that are smaller/quieter but capable?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2018, 08:58 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,829
Default

like Dustin said make Shure blocks are getting by bench testing the loop without motherboard, GPU or whatever block.

have a manifold off the pump pressure side be it 2 or more outlets , just plumb block inlets and have return going to same size cup to meter, pail to catch flow while priming

fill res and prime pump that all water block are getting flow to a pail

stop pump then fill res after all is primed

then place each cup after water block, turn on pump

turn off pump then look at cups levels

what one has the most add a flow control to that block and test again till matches cup levels on a 2 block set-up if more than 2 blocks match flow 2 and the next add another flow control to third and so on till all are even

i know its a pain but seeing is believing on parallel loop note: 2 manifolds

with serial loop its the slowest block dictates flow of loop
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2018, 11:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 19
Default

Considering doing this myself, simialr to the attached image but getting lots of mixed opinions. IMO I love how it looks and would be willing to accept a loss of a few degrees.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2018, 11:41 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,758
Default

It's 'Series' .

=)
__________________
Supermicro X11DPi-NT:2x Xeon Gold 6144's:Lots more other stuff.Dual 4k monitor video .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2018, 01:43 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,495

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
It's 'Series' .

=)
Nope, the cpu is in parallel with the gpu. If it was serial there would be one line going in and out of the vid card feeding the cpu and the outlet of the cpu would be going to the res.

Your loop looks vaguely familiar.... :)

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...tml#post722505
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2018, 03:21 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

He was pointing out that the blocks should be referred to as being in series, not as serial loop and he was not referring to the picture. Grammar nazi stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2018, 10:01 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,829
Default

yes SS but i see cpu being starved in that set-up

SJ to me it's both
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2018, 10:09 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,495

My System Specs

Default

Well... it worked fine for me in practice. It's really no different than having a pair of sli'd vid cards in parallel so long as there isn't a bid difference in flow between the two blocks.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI loop, serial or parallel stlouis1 Water Cooling 4 April 16, 2017 05:55 PM
Dual Pump in Serial vs. Parallel? Ashihtaka Water Cooling 32 July 2, 2015 04:50 PM
Switching serial loop to parallel Mnemonicman Water Cooling 9 October 26, 2012 07:44 PM
[WTB] EK Bridge Triple Serial or Parallel drkCrix Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 16, 2012 04:33 PM
adding sli to loop - series or parallel? sukebe Water Cooling 12 January 5, 2011 11:18 PM