Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 10:01 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default Leak in T-line

I recently bought a copper t-line from Canadian Tire, 1/2" . I built a new water cooled PC as my 2nd pc. Used old asus p5nsli, e6600 and 4 gigs of ddr2 ram. I bought a swiftech mcp655, mcr 220 qp res and apogee GT off of vortex to put in it. I started leak testing and right way it was leaking out of my t-line. i have got zapstraps on it already, as i could not get any little ring thingys *can't remember the proper name :P right now* over top of the t-line. Since it is a qp res, should i just take the t-line out and fill it from the res?
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 10:06 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

that copper "t" will not work as there are no barbs to create a seal and water will simply bypass and leak.

Get a proper t.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2008, 07:01 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Or use the qp res and ditch the T-line. And that "little rig thingy" is called an o-ring.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2008, 07:11 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

My guess is that he's talking about worm drive clamps.

If you already have a res in the system then I agree that you should ditch the t-line.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2008, 07:13 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
My guess is that he's talking about worm drive clamps.
"zapstraps" = worm gear clamps? Geez, I taught he meant tye-wraps...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2008, 07:24 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

No I meant those "ring thingys". "zapstraps" = tie wraps is a new on on me too.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2008, 08:59 AM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

zapstraps a new term? cmon they been zaps for years now. ;) "zzzzzzzzzzap. snip!"
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2008, 12:47 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

heh, thanks, it was the worm clamps :P see, i wouldn't mind the T-line for easy draining... :P
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2008, 12:55 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Heh... been "zapstraps" for quite some time in the circles I frequent. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2008, 01:25 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

Phob what tubing did you use? I only use the 7/16 stuff because it fits nice and tight. I havent tried the canadian tire T-lines and 1/2" tubing yet.....
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes