Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 06:12 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default Advice on loop needed ...

Hey guys, I have the following parts and will be assembling my loop this weekend :

- Swiftech Apogee GTX cpu block
- Swiftech MCW30 chipset block
- Swiftech MCR220 radiator
- Swiftech Smart Reservoir
- D-Tek DB1 pump
- Masterkleer 7/16 ID tubing
- Primochill Primoflex 3/8 ID tubing
- 2 sets of Bitspower compression fittings (3/8) + an array of 1/2 and 3/8 fittings

Facts :

1. I am not buying a new pump anytime soon (my first watercooling setup, just wanna get my feet wet). I would probably buy an MCP355 with Petras top in a few months if I like watercooling.

2. Apogee GTX to MCW30 requires 3/8 tubing because the 7/16 kinks without the use of smartcoils, and I really don't like the look of smart coils (in my loop).

3. The D-Tek DB1 is definately not the best pump out there.

Question:

- Should I choose to setup my loop to include the MCW30 chipset block with the 3/8 tubing, will the pump struggle or will I have sufficient flow ?

or

- Should I ditch the MCW30, and do the plumbing using the 7/16 tubing?

Cheers !
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 07:40 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

It will work just fine putting it all together, the worst that will happen is you won't be getting the best temps possible. But if you're just getting your feet "wet" then what's it matter. I'd suggest just leaving the NB out of the loop for now. The DB1 works well in a single block loop.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 10:31 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Who says 7/16" kinks without smartcoils? I use nothing but 7/16" tubing in all my builds and have no kinking issues, I also dont use Smartcoils.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 10:45 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Who says 7/16" kinks without smartcoils? I use nothing but 7/16" tubing in all my builds and have no kinking issues, I also dont use Smartcoils.
Me, because I did an initial dry build with the MCW30, on my DFI Blood Iron, and the chipset is so close to the cpu socket that I can't prevent the tubing from kinking without coils

I want a clean sexy build with tie wraps to a minimum and no coils...
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 10:54 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Ah gotcha. I used 3 blue zipties in that bend just to make sure it didnt kink, but even without it did ok for me. I use the Swiftech tubing, which has quite thick walls. Yes that Masterkleer stuff is a little weaker.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 11:06 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Yeah, a bit off topic, but your main build is pretty hardcore, and the Vortex solution looks super clean. Thats the build quality I'm looking for. Sleek !
__________________


Last edited by Synth; May 8, 2008 at 12:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 11:36 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Hehehe, I'm addicted. Re-building the loop this weekend too, got a Fusion V1 and a 3rd Rad. Also going to build a 3rd WC machine this weekend too with some left over parts lying around. Yay WC!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 09:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 144
Default Reply

Tygon FTW! Tygon is so awesome it usually doesn't kink unless you intentionally kink it, also crystal clear so you can see the fluid flow. You could just get some barbs to fit onto the GTX, But just wondering why aren't you getting the D-Tek FuZion V2? OH ya unless you plan on extreme overclocking, I advise you ditch the MCW30.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2008, 05:31 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakgeek1337 View Post
Tygon FTW! Tygon is so awesome it usually doesn't kink unless you intentionally kink it, also crystal clear so you can see the fluid flow. You could just get some barbs to fit onto the GTX, But just wondering why aren't you getting the D-Tek FuZion V2? OH ya unless you plan on extreme overclocking, I advise you ditch the MCW30.
Because I already have the GTX, and the Fuzion v2 is more restrictive than the v1 (something I don't need with the DB1).

I think I'll go for a cpu block only loop, using the masterkleer. I can't believe how good the seal is when using 7/16 tubing on 1/2 fittings! For the northbridge, I'll put the spare thermalright hr-05 IFX I have lying around here somewhere.

Will post pics this weekend!
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes