Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2014, 02:45 AM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default Should I drain immediately?

Hi haven't been around for awhile, anyways I'm back for a quick question. I have gotten into water cooling with a xspc ray storm, rx360, and d5 res combo kit. my question is this, I did not hear about flushing the rad till i already started the leak testing phase. my loop is currently doing just that and I want to know if i should stop it and drain it all then flush the rad of if i leave it for like 3 months will it damage something or just degrade performance. I hope this makes sense.

rvcjew
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2014, 03:35 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

degrade performance and muck up the loop depends on amount of flux left over when made

when flush rad also open all blocks an clean , before open them

have spare 0-rings to replace for assurance of no leaks after
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2014, 04:49 AM
akira749's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Donnacona, QC
Posts: 396

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reaverclan View Post
Hi haven't been around for awhile, anyways I'm back for a quick question. I have gotten into water cooling with a xspc ray storm, rx360, and d5 res combo kit. my question is this, I did not hear about flushing the rad till i already started the leak testing phase. my loop is currently doing just that and I want to know if i should stop it and drain it all then flush the rad of if i leave it for like 3 months will it damage something or just degrade performance. I hope this makes sense.

rvcjew
In some way you're lucky because XSPC are usually "almost" clean from the factory compared to Alphacool/Phobya rads.

But since you're still in leak testing, I would flush the loop, remove the rad and and clean flush it by doing 3-4 "shaking dance" runs. After that, just reconnect the rad in the loop, refill with DI water and run it a few minutes (5-10 minutes) and flush the loop again this is just to clean the potential residues. Then fill it up again and re-start your leak test phase.
__________________

Folding Build 1 : White Asylum (Case Labs SM8)
Folding Build 2 : Ergo Proxy (Case Labs SMH10)
Folding Build 3 : Hurrikaine (Case Labs S8)
Gaming Build : Alexstrasza’s Shrine (Case Labs S5)
Work In Progress : Xenomorph (Parvum S2.0)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2014, 01:32 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

I decided to wait a little and unless it's inside all of the block I see none in my res anywhere, I don't have time to drain it now but will see how it goes thanks for the advice. Duely noted to get a spare oring.

Rvcjew
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2014, 10:02 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Anyone know where we can get spare O Rings for EKWB's....in particular the FC GTX 780Ti model...does Daz carry em or from EK direct?...curious..
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2014, 03:48 AM
akira749's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Donnacona, QC
Posts: 396

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Anyone know where we can get spare O Rings for EKWB's....in particular the FC GTX 780Ti model...does Daz carry em or from EK direct?...curious..
In North America, FrozenCPU is the official place for EK replacement parts like this.

The one you want to have for your specific block is this one : EK Replacement O-Ring - 144 x 2.0 (OR 144x2 NBR55)
__________________

Folding Build 1 : White Asylum (Case Labs SM8)
Folding Build 2 : Ergo Proxy (Case Labs SMH10)
Folding Build 3 : Hurrikaine (Case Labs S8)
Gaming Build : Alexstrasza’s Shrine (Case Labs S5)
Work In Progress : Xenomorph (Parvum S2.0)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2014, 09:07 PM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

oh nice Akira. IDK this.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2014, 09:19 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

Well it finally got drained and omg yeah had lots of flux in block, basically it was plugged. I flushed the radiator and replaced tubing as it was coated it what ever this is on my inside of where pump goes in the res. Any idea what this powder like stuff is? us it my pipes reacting to the flux or biocide?

Thanks,
rvcjew



Block before cleaning.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2014, 10:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,424

My System Specs

Default

that's brutal man... I've never seen anything like that before. What color is your tubing?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2014, 12:13 AM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

Heh yeah it is. its all good now it was the dead water i used apparently according to very respected friend who knows this stuff really well. it reacted to my tubing and is not what you use for my kind of blocks I guess. Frozen cpu gives it free with stuff so i took it but it was a mistake i guess, i will be going straight distilled till i get some PT nuke. My system now has new tubing and i added a non bay res and gpu blocks so its all good now I will fill it tomorrow and bleed it leave feedback. it seems to be oxidation from the reaction of the biocide and thats it. The black was defiantly Flux though lol. This is a good example of needing to flush before hand.

This is what was in my loop IandH Dead-Water Copper Sulfate Biocidal PC Coolant Additive - 15 mL - FrozenCPU.com and i was told this was bad and is what is reacting to do this also it reacting to the flux didn't help i'm sure.

New setup with OLD D5 and Ek top


OLD setup
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP Agrees to $425,000 Civil Penalty for Failure to Immediately Report Li-Ion Battery Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 January 24, 2012 03:48 PM
[Likely not virus?] MSE, Windows Defender, Firewall close immediately on startup frontier204 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 April 14, 2011 11:39 AM
WTB Immediately HD3870 Eldonko Buy/Sell & Trade 19 November 5, 2008 11:28 PM
drain???? WolfBane Water Cooling 29 July 13, 2008 09:10 AM
Need help Immediately choosing ram mailaw RAM 5 July 25, 2007 10:29 AM