Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2014, 02:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,364

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
If I remember properly the unit works based off of the coolant temp. The hotter the coolant the more voltage gets applied to the tec to cool the system down.

When this temperature difference is seen the units fan kicks in to help dissipate the heat away from the massive heat exchanger for the tec units.
Cool I hope that's the case as it will be easier to deal with. I don't want this unit running 100% because it can't find an accurate temp. I've installed heating injection systems a couple times commercially so I understand the logistics. I will be able to test this prior to a full install into my case. I'm hoping careful use with a heat gun may have the desired heat to engage the cooling system on demand. Just waiting to hear back from Braineater about the USB connector.

I have several HSF I can donate to the testing cause

Keep in mind this is all just for fun
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2014, 02:31 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
Cool I hope that's the case as it will be easier to deal with. I don't want this unit running 100% because it can't find an accurate temp. I've installed heating injection systems a couple times commercially so I understand the logistics. I will be able to test this prior to a full install into my case. I'm hoping careful use with a heat gun may have the desired heat to engage the cooling system on demand. Just waiting to hear back from Braineater about the USB connector.

I have several HSF I can donate to the testing cause

Keep in mind this is all just for fun
USB connector? Your missing it? Or figuring out how to use it?

If your really bored and wanting to experiment I still have a ton of parts and unused non elite units in my closet.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2014, 03:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,846

My System Specs

Default

Random thought...What about running something like Diagram 1, but moving the freezone to between the CPU and GPU (post MOB/CPU and prior to GPU)? Take a bit of the heat out before hitting the big heat producer.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2014, 05:18 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Using a liquid-liquid exchanger like you suggest in either configuration , is about the same , you are only removing heat from 'the system'.

----

Cool-it systems is still around , albeit not selling retail :
CoolIT Systems - CoolIT Systems
They are up by you bud ; 3920 29st NE Calgary.....or call em ; 403-235-4895 I bet they can offer help.

>>If you can make one go , you can make 3 go.<<

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2014, 05:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 34
Default

I don't mean to seem , a stick in the mud; But, both your loops are "Highly" series. You should look at a parallel loop, to help with restriction to flow. Gotta a lot of blocks going on there.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2014, 05:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,364

My System Specs

Default

Surprisingly there isn't a lot of restriction in the loop man. Only 3 blocks with a d5 strong pump which can easily do twice this loop. Rads are very very low restriction... parallel loops are difficult to balance while a series loop has no guesswork. It either cools or it doesn't.

Injection systems work on a call for cooling/heating basis. If the liquid is too warm it will fire up the secondary cooling. If it is cold enough it will sit idle which is why it is installed in the secondary picture like it is. With injection the outlet precedes the inlet to prevent flashing and maintain a steady temperature. I don't know for sure if the coolit will even work installed like this until I try.

I think in the end the injection portion could happen on either side of the rad and still provide cooling I will have to try both ways and test it to know for sure.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.

Last edited by clshades; May 5, 2014 at 06:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2014, 06:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 34
Default

You're a better man than me. I had to go to an Apt. sized freezer to realize below ambient. That didn't last long. Blew up the freezer. One day, the compressor just didn't start.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2014, 06:16 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
Using a liquid-liquid exchanger like you suggest in either configuration , is about the same , you are only removing heat from 'the system'.

----

Cool-it systems is still around , albeit not selling retail :
CoolIT Systems - CoolIT Systems
They are up by you bud ; 3920 29st NE Calgary.....or call em ; 403-235-4895 I bet they can offer help.

>>If you can make one go , you can make 3 go.<<

Coolit is no longer in the retail part of things and they most likely will not help with any end user questions especially about something like this.

Experience from a person like myself is the best bet.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2014, 06:37 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,364

My System Specs

Default

if you have the usb connector that would be a great help Enaberif. if not I'll have to try and make one... it's for the MTEC box.

something like this should work.
http://www.computervalley.ca/bmz_cac...ge.500x500.jpg
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.

Last edited by clshades; May 5, 2014 at 07:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2014, 07:49 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
if you have the usb connector that would be a great help Enaberif. if not I'll have to try and make one... it's for the MTEC box.

something like this should work.
http://www.computervalley.ca/bmz_cac...ge.500x500.jpg
Yeah I'll take a look tomorrow and see what I have,.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Coolit Freezone Elite Now Only $180!! kruzn4evr Buy/Sell & Trade 57 March 25, 2010 06:31 AM
[FS] HAF 932/Freezone Elite Inik Buy/Sell & Trade 23 November 19, 2009 05:02 AM
[WTB] Freezone rai_polo Buy/Sell & Trade 3 October 24, 2009 09:54 AM
[WTB] freezone elite kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 33 September 7, 2009 12:43 PM
Coolit Freezone vs. Freezone Elite mo' power Water Cooling 7 August 29, 2009 10:50 PM