Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2014, 08:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,013

My System Specs

Default

The hard-mount on a bay res with integrated pump will transmit vibration like crazy. For that reason alone I always plumb my loops in such a way I can decouple the pump with some very soft tubing and a nice sponge pad.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2014, 09:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtletrax View Post
I also think that people overestimate how much you have to torque an o ring seal to maintain water tightness. I have worked on 40,000 - 80,000 PSI pumps that are o ring sealed and you don't need to gorilla grip tighten them. Just a firm 1/4 to 1/2 turn from hand tight. Easy does it is the ticket.
yup especially extremely low pressure like a d5
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2014, 07:43 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 99
Default

I've had a D5 in a single bay res and I could hear it but not from 15m away. What case are you using, perhaps it is nasty resonance...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2014, 07:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Footman View Post
I've had a D5 in a single bay res and I could hear it but not from 15m away. What case are you using, perhaps it is nasty resonance...
I'm using a Corsair C70 case, and the res is an XSPC dual bay res.

With the amount of noise that it's making it probably is a problem with the pump as others have said. I plan on taking it apart later today to check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2014, 12:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

might be some trapped air in there man... I have the same res and no noise.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2014, 01:43 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,958

My System Specs

Default

The XSPC reservoir is the issue. I have seen many complaints of the same issue. It is not decoupled at all and transfers all vibrations to the case.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2014, 03:57 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

I'll agree. I have one of those XSPC pump top/reservoirs and found it surprisingly noisy compared to how my pump was with a different top on it.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2014, 10:20 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 630

My System Specs

Default

I've always run D5 varios and even on 5 they should be barely audible from 1-2m in a closed case. I have two in my current case in a koolance bay mount on setting 3/5 and they are completely inaudible over my 700 RPM noctuas. I concur with the above. Sounds like you have a bad pump or that reservoir conducts vibrations really well.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2014, 05:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
The XSPC reservoir is the issue. I have seen many complaints of the same issue. It is not decoupled at all and transfers all vibrations to the case.
Well that's unfortunate. I really like the reservoir otherwise. I'll see what I can do to dampen the vibrations.

I also took apart my pump last night and here are the pictures of what I saw. https://imgur.com/a/gqZby
Everything seemed undamaged but I am not sure.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2014, 07:32 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

I bet pump full of air.

edit: Also, yes bay reservoirs are noisy. That is trade of for convenience of having it in front.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
d5 pump , laing , loud , noisy , pump

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the stock Intel fan noisy? bliz Air Cooling 9 November 20, 2012 10:04 PM
Antec Earthwatts 500W Noisy geokilla Power Supplies 10 March 28, 2012 03:15 PM
ATI 3870HD fan is noisy what can I replace it with? Shadowmeph Video Cards 2 December 21, 2009 09:10 AM
Noisy Fan on PSU Kayen Power Supplies 6 August 29, 2009 11:58 AM
OCZ StealthXStream 600W = noisy PSU Jacka Power Supplies 1 December 14, 2008 04:57 PM