Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2013, 02:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Default Thermal paste and H100i corsair

im just a newbie here so need your kind advices coz for now im starting building my rig
but im confuse of the Pea or the Credit card ways of putting the thermal paste please advice and do i have to remove my stock thermal in H100i ?


my Rig :

cooler master scout 2
Evga geforce gtx 760 ddr5 2gb
core i7 3820 3.5 ghz(turbo boost 3.9 ghz)
corsair vengeance 8gb ddr3
seagate 6.0 gb/s 1 tb
corsair h100i cooling
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2013, 03:35 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,951
Default

if new no and remove the protective film off WB

to replace tim

always clean off with alcohol Then apply

blob in center and plastic bag on finger as condom to spread it even over cpu IHS

Last edited by KaptCrunch; October 1, 2013 at 04:30 AM. Reason: clear'r statement
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2013, 03:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Default

so i prefer to have a pea style but very litle amount of thermal paste and should i cover up the whole? or let my Corsair do the rest? and one thing there is no problem if i will not remove the stock thermal of my h100i? it will not cause problem if i will put directly after apply the thermal in my cpu?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2013, 04:47 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

You want about a grain of rice worth in the middle of the cpu and yes, you want to remove the pre-applied stuff if using your own as too much isn't any good either.
Locate the cooler in the right place and press down firmly, lift it off and have a look if it's spread over the full cpu.
If needed add a tiny bit more for full coverage / clean off any excess that is going over the edge of the CPU and then fix the block in place.

You should be looking for the minimum amount to fill any imperfections between the 2 surfaces. no more.

I would make sure it's actually better compound first though. Why remove the current stuff for worse results?
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2013, 06:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Default

ok thanks for the reply :) im excited
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2013, 06:17 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

BTW the stock TIM on corsairs waterblocks is very high quality and probably better than stuff you can buy, so don't bother replacing it unless you have to mount the block more than once.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2013, 06:18 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

Putting on premium TIM over the pre applied will have a tiny effect on your temps. I use premium tims, but you have to realize that there isn't a huge difference.

As to the spread vs pea method, I think it really depends on your TIM.

I always dope both surfaces with a tiny thin layer when working with arctic silver then use a pea in the middle.

But with really sticky stuff, like noctua nh1, it's so simple. You just put a pea sized "squiggle" (think soft serve ice cream) in the middle of the heat spreader and that's it. The pressure of your heatsink on the heat spreader will make a perfectly even and very thin coat.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2013, 03:38 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

Pea size is usually too much though... more TIM is just extra stuff the heat has to go through before getting to the heatsink.
You only want the smallest amount to form a seal with no gaps.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2013, 04:05 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,608
Default

Guys... Corsairs H series COME with thermal paste pre-applied.

USE IT
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2013, 04:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,396

My System Specs

Default

I dunno why anyone would remove the factory applied stuff. It's perfectly spread and ready to go. Listen to Enab!
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermal basics : a.k.a. What thermal paste..... BrainEater Guides & How-to's 11 October 24, 2013 07:26 PM
GTX 580 thermal paste mikellini Video Cards 13 November 17, 2010 10:37 PM
Thermal Paste killerjay_47 Air Cooling 9 March 15, 2010 02:53 PM
Thermal Paste r0k0 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 February 15, 2010 10:53 PM
Thermal Paste??? Salavat23 Water Cooling 6 December 27, 2007 05:43 PM