Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2013, 02:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 4
Default Pump started to get loud?

Hey guys,

I installed my water cooling system about 3 months ago but the last week or so my pump has gotten louder, is it struggling to get water through the tubes, should I flush it? It's an XSPC X2O 750 Dual 5.25 Bay Reservoir Pump V4. Any suggestions greatly appreciated, would prefer not to have to disassemble everything (I don't yet have a drainage pipe/valve) but this isn't a problem if it's causing the noise.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2013, 07:37 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,530

My System Specs

Default

More than likely you've picked up some air in the system.

Did you top the res right up to the top? I find that helps with my primochill bay res setup.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2013, 08:18 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Posts: 104
Default

Sounds like you have an airlock in your system.
The usual culprit is the rad because it has so many paths, air can be trapped in most of the fins but water can still get thru.
Pumps can become air locked too.
It's possible both are air locked.

You'll will have to detach the rad from the case(unplug your fan(s))
*Loosen the plug for the reservoir* leaving the plug tight pressurizes the loop making it harder for air to escape
Try to hold the rad so the exit is higher entrance
Turn the power on
Shake the living hell out of it (or in this case trapped air)
You may have to do it this a few times until you feel confident that you got all the air out.
Re install rad, plug fans back in and tighten plug on reservoir

If the liquid still isn't moving then your pump has an airlock, in which you will have to twist and turn the reservoir to dislodge the air from inside the pump.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2013, 10:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the replies guys, I'll try that tomorrow. It's 7pm in England and I've started playing games so it'll have to wait!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2013, 03:19 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default



fluid should be 6mm below rez fill port (black plug with the cros in it) note plug should face the ceiling and be the highest point of loop

lets hope you don't have a leak
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2013, 08:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

I would suggest not unscrewing the cap and shaking the living hell out of it... Shaking it around isn't a bad idea however. Use the handle end of a screw driver and tap the rad it might loosen the air lock.
Pressure is caused from thermal expansion. Heat is the cause of this so if you are having flow problems in your loop there may be components getting hotter than they should be.
Post a picture of your loop and some specs.

Are you using a pump speed controller?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2013, 12:03 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

I don't even stock those any longer. They do not last.

It possible you have air, but many just go bad in about 3 months.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2013, 04:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

have you ripped one apart daz? Too see what the cause is?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2013, 05:42 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

No, I was not interested enough to investigate into this pump. I suggest Laing pumps to my customers. Tried and true.

As usual if you cheap out --> pay twice at the end.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2013, 02:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 4
Default

Again, thanks for the replies, I've not tried anything yet as the sound seems to have quietened, it's filled up probably 4/5ths of the res. I will be getting a new res and pump when I get money, I only got this cheap loop to see the benefits of water cooling whilst keeping cost down.

My loop is below, I know the cables weren't managed so well when that pic was taken but that was before I upgraded my mobo and cpu.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] A Watercooling pump or pump res combo. Soullessone21 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 October 21, 2012 06:24 PM
Just started... somecanadianguy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 79 July 6, 2009 09:59 PM
How loud is too loud for fans? Liu Kang Air Cooling 40 April 5, 2009 10:11 PM
Pump is just too loud, can yo undervolt? donimo Water Cooling 25 March 13, 2009 07:12 PM
loud pump kyle_L Water Cooling 19 January 26, 2009 05:24 AM