Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2013, 07:57 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default Monitoring a watercooling setup

Please read carefully.....

I'm helping to build a little glycol loop/cooling system.....prolly in the area of 500 GPM , half-million BTU load....35 feet of head pressure , many different loops.

So....

We're running 4" mains to the loops . each loop goes down to 2" lines .

-----

We are trying to design a 'cheap' monitoring setup.We've got primary pressure and flowrate covered ...Caveat : each main loop expands to 3 sub loops.
.....it's when we start to try to monitor each loop/sub-loop that things get really expensive.

Anyone ever made flow indicators ( just indicator , not measure) ??

How about actual measuring devices ?

--

This is the watercooling section , lets see what yah got !!!

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2013, 08:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,498

My System Specs

Default

There's a couple ways this can be accomplished but I'll need to ask a couple questions.

question 1/ Is this strictly flow indication?
question 2/ is all the other information just to send me on a wild goose chase? ;-)

A cheaper flow indicator in smaller diameter piping like half inch. Basically you get two 2" x 1/2" tee and build a small loop that can be isolated from the main 2" line with 2 half inch valves. The main reason why I would do it this way is so the flow indicator can be changed out easily if it fails down the road. Then you can use a 1/2 inch flow indicator instead of a 2"

You will see flow through this even if it's branched off the 2" line and its a far cheaper solution to installing a flow indicator and 2x 2" valves. While you'll lose a small amount of pressure in that area you'll gain it back right after the 2nd valve.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2013, 08:53 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default

Question 2 first : No goose chase at all . This is important.

----

Question 1 :

Each tank has 3 loops....visual indication at this level is fine , we just need to have an indication of flow for each of the 3 zones , because we need to balance flow.Every single jacket/loop has isolation and flow control valves.

We've gotten a 1" line flowmeter for 60$.....It's in testing.

"measurement loops" require calibration , and that's extra cash....We are totally willing to do that in the long run , but ...... discussion time.

----

This might belong in the modding section.......has no-one ever made one of those 'ball' flow indicators ?

How about hall-effect sensors ?

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2013, 08:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,498

My System Specs

Default

if you are planning to add this stuff later then you need to add some future tee's and extra valves to ensure it's easy... threaded pipe ain't easy to just add stuff. Welded is so ******* expensive you wouldn't bother.

__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2013, 08:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,498

My System Specs

Default

Flow Indicators - Google Search=_
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2013, 09:05 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default

Yes , that's exactly what I want.

That 'paddle-wheel' indicator is 350$ for the 3/4 inch NPT version.I've priced em out........let alone anything over 1"...so at minimum that's a 15 thousand dollar outlay.

Srry that wont fly.

I think I can make a 'ball' indicator for 1-2 inch line for 50$ each.....any advice ?



edit :

Cole parmer :

Flowmeters from Cole-Parmer Canada

That's a good place to start........so much cash it's sick.
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...

Last edited by BrainEater; July 31, 2013 at 09:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2013, 09:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,498

My System Specs

Default

I'll see what I can find out this week man. Pretty sure I can get a deal on those things for you.



brass
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2013, 09:19 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

making a inexpensive flow indicator would be quite easy for something like this.

get a pvc "t" and from this you could do two things. glue a clear piece of glass onto the t part and let something hang into the fluid.

get a pvc "t" and cap the "t" but drill a small hole so a metal rod with a prop on the bottom would spin and add a small flag on top that will turn
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2013, 07:42 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default

I've been thinking along similar lines.A tee assembly flow indicator would pretty much be ideal....the problem I'm hitting right now is reliability....if you were to just hang a piece of string for example , it would eventually mold up/fall off/clog pump....I can't have that.....I'm playing aroung with a bunch of stuff today , we'll see what happens.

---

Yep , those ball indicators would be perfect deano . 1" npt thread size.

I have't been able to find 1" ones for less than a couple hundred bux , and those are plastic.....It's a ball indicator I was debating about making , basically you just drill 3 holes into a square block of plastic.....

----

Here's the "best case scenario" :
If I could , I'd want electronic monitoring of all 60 zones with actual metering.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2013, 07:48 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,531

My System Specs

Default

Far better off measuring pressure than flow, should be significantly cheaper as well. Gauges should be cheap, drill and tap holes. Should be low cost sending units available somewhere too for setting up wired guages for electronic monitoring. My $.02.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Watercooling setup (775, EK FC GT200-B) element291 Buy/Sell & Trade 15 January 6, 2012 05:33 PM
Custom watercooling setup Night Gyr Water Cooling 12 December 31, 2010 12:21 PM
watercooling setup (which in order) CTA Water Cooling 15 October 12, 2010 05:16 PM
[WTB] Looking for a watercooling setup for AMD Socket AM3 freeloader1969 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 May 26, 2010 07:24 AM
[FS] Silverstone TJ-07 w/ watercooling setup Empty_Quarter Buy/Sell & Trade 9 December 12, 2008 04:48 AM