Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2013, 12:53 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default CPU block in parallel with GPU block?

Has anybody here tried this?

I'm new(ish) to GPU cooling so it never crossed my mind to even consider it.

I know that SLI'd cards are run in parallel to each other and that the flow sorts itself out, but I'm wondering if the same could be said for putting the CPU block in parallel with a single GPU. What I'm considering is Pump - Rad - GPU (Front Left) - out from GPU (Front Right) - CPU - GPU Rear Right - out from GPU Rear Left - Res/Pump.

It would certainly make the loop a lot cleaner.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2013, 12:59 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 628

My System Specs

Default

The issue is that your CPU and GPU blocks will likely have a different amount of restriction and the fluid will of course take the path of least resistance. If, by chance, they are equally restrictive it could work, but odds are one would receive the majority of the flow.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2013, 01:02 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dustin1706 View Post
The issue is that your CPU and GPU blocks will likely have a different amount of restriction and the fluid will of course take the path of least resistance. If, by chance, they are equally restrictive it could work, but odds are one would receive the majority of the flow.
That's my initial thoughts but I'm wondering how much of a difference it would make. Probably too much of a difference, but it certainly would make for an sweet looking loop. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2013, 01:21 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 985

My System Specs

Default

Each loop is different. I say spend the $20 on tubing for a test loop and record the results ;)
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2013, 01:38 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoob View Post
Each loop is different. I say spend the $20 on tubing for a test loop and record the results ;)

Heh... I may actually take a fit and try that. I've got enough old lengths of 1/2" tubing kicking around that I could probably make up a couple of loose loops without having to buy new tubing (I've got another 10' of the black primochill ordered anywise). Now it's just a matter of coming up with a few extra barbs that won't leak all over the bloody place. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2013, 03:17 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,920
Default



keep same length to GPU's from Y
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2013, 04:22 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post


keep same length to GPU's from Y
Wouldn't solve my issue.

Name:  Parallel GPU-CPU loop.jpg
Views: 402
Size:  123.6 KB


This is basically what I'm suggesting as opposed to having a long run which loops over the GFX card to get to the cpu and then back through the GPU in series.

There are several different things I could do (such as switching that current rad input line to the bottom so that the top one is an easier reach for the cpu) but if this would work it would result in a fairly tight loop considering the distance I have to travel from the bottom section pump/res.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2013, 04:29 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,913

My System Specs

Default

How restrictive is your CPU block? If it is a very restrictive block you could run in to problems w/ your CPU temperature. But if it happens to have a pressure drop similar to your GPU block you should be ok. Flow across each block will be significantly lower though.

I have done GPU + GPU + CPU parallel in the past and it was ok. I didn't try series to see how it compared for CPU temps though.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2013, 04:38 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

It doesn't look restrictive at all... basically a large copper ridged heatsink with wide channels and big thick ribs. I know it's not scientific, but blowing air through it doesn't seem to indicate much restriction. I'm inclined to give it a shot, if it doesn't keep temps down then I'll have to redo the loop.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2013, 04:48 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

If that's the cpu block I sold you its not very restrictive at all man. Give it a go man and let us know how it goes!
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vid block nasrott Water Cooling 1 April 27, 2012 05:04 AM
The value of a GTX 480 with EK WC block Lanboy Off Topic 0 May 29, 2011 05:09 PM
Want to add a block to my gtx 480 botat29 Water Cooling 8 October 16, 2010 04:54 PM
[WTB] WC parts (pump, res, tubing, chipset block and 4850 compatible GPU block) donimo Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 2, 2009 11:53 AM