Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2013, 08:12 PM
robotninjasrule's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 18
Default coolermaster HAF xb build!

Anyways long time lurker, finally decided to post!
So I decided to do a full water loop instead of the silly all in ones. Some reason I fell in love With this case. I wanted to mount the rads inside but that was not gonna happen Lol!
Stupid noctua fans are so ugly but at 12 bux a pop I figured I could over look it




Dam posting pics on my phone sucks!
Now just need to wait for my daz order and haswell!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2013, 01:16 AM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 450

My System Specs

Default

interesting modifications. welcome to HWC.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2013, 06:59 AM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

I'm curious about the top panel fan config. Can it fit 4 120mm fans up top?

I'm curious to see if a Phobya 480 could fit up there internally...
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2013, 09:10 AM
Hail Ceasar's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Castlegar, B.C.
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

Can't wait to see more, I want an XB for my next build!
__________________

Intel i7 Quad Core 920 @3.8GHz | eVGA X58 x3 SLI | HAF 932 | Corsair 1000w | WD SSD 256gb | WD 3200 1TB | Seagate 2TB | 6x2GB DDR3 Mushkin XP3| MSI GTX 680+EK WB| 24" BENQ E2400HD | 19" Samsung 953BW

Swiftech 655 | Swiftech MCR220 | Apogee GTZ+1366 | EK Spinbay Res | EK Waterblock | Primochill 5/8" | Bitspower Compression Fittings
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2013, 04:04 PM
robotninjasrule's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks for the welcome! I don't think it can fit 4 120s nice, would over hang.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2013, 04:16 PM
robotninjasrule's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 18
Default

So it was a nice day and I decided to mount my resume/pump. I wanted too mount it on the inside on the bottom but I previously mounted a 3.5 inch HD rack instead of the stock 2.5. Would have got a bigger red if I would have know.
Wonder if the D5 pumps heat up I could use those 80mm fan spots.



Also decided to drill the holes for the gromets i stole from my old fractal case.
Pls excuse the terrible camera phone photos, no computer to upload good ones.

Last edited by robotninjasrule; June 1, 2013 at 10:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 03:28 PM
robotninjasrule's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 18
Default

So I decided to mount my 7950's water block too bad I had got a dcuii v2 as a return RMA. Ek does not make a full cover for it! I ended up buying bunch of ram sinks from dazmode and a swiftech mc21 for the vrms. But....


With a little grinding I was able to make the water block fit over the stock v2 vrm cooler. With some old stand offs I had laying around I also mounted a 80mm fan, hopefully that keeps the vrm in check.


Just need those dam asus ROG boards to get in stock!

Last edited by robotninjasrule; June 5, 2013 at 04:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 06:36 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,002

My System Specs

Default

VRMs don't need a whole lot of cooling. What you have pictured will definitely be sufficient. Hell I ran a Titan w/o sinks no problem. All I had was a fan pointed over top of them.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2013, 08:46 AM
robotninjasrule's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
VRMs don't need a whole lot of cooling. What you have pictured will definitely be sufficient. Hell I ran a Titan w/o sinks no problem. All I had was a fan pointed over top of them.
I think so too. Just going back to my 5870 days where the vrms would constantly reach 110+ stock lol
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2013, 04:32 PM
robotninjasrule's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 18
Default

Decided to route a couple hoses, I really need the motherboard to come in so I can bolt this stuff down!


Freaking non reference cards, I am seriously considering just buying 2x 780s lol


Should have gone with a 5/8 O/D I think to make it a bit easier to route
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mITX build Coolermaster Elite 120 vagnaar Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 12 February 11, 2013 11:51 AM
Coolermaster 690 II build w/pics NineLives New Builds 1 September 26, 2011 04:35 PM
coolermaster v8 in a coolermaster 330!!! Remoth Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 10 November 12, 2009 02:04 PM
Coolermaster OEM ? Soultribunal Power Supplies 3 October 8, 2009 04:15 PM
Coolermaster Cosmos S Non-XSPC review on a Watercooling build Dashock Member Reviews 72 October 25, 2008 06:33 AM