Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 9, 2013, 05:17 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default Tubing + fitting advice

I'm planning on a new build and I've water cooled my current rig witch ill give to the my lady. however ive never really thought about what size tubing and compression fittings are the best. I know that the threads need to match male to female. but now browsing ive seen 1/2 in id and 5/8 od having 1/4 thread. how big should i go in tubing?i have good temps when playing games, my cpu never goes above 57 and my GPU never goes above 47 both are in a single loop i am a bit new to watercooling. Any advice would help. Thanks

EK G1/4 Thread Perfect Seal Compression Fitting - 13mm ID x 19mm OD (1/2" x 3/4") - Black - FrozenCPU.com
Old May 9, 2013, 08:20 AM
Allstar

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warcrimes View Post
I'm planning on a new build and I've water cooled my current rig witch ill give to the my lady. however ive never really thought about what size tubing and compression fittings are the best. I know that the threads need to match male to female. but now browsing ive seen 1/2 in id and 5/8 od having 1/4 thread. how big should i go in tubing?i have good temps when playing games, my cpu never goes above 57 and my GPU never goes above 47 both are in a single loop i am a bit new to watercooling. Any advice would help. Thanks

EK G1/4 Thread Perfect Seal Compression Fitting - 13mm ID x 19mm OD (1/2" x 3/4") - Black - FrozenCPU.com
Tubing size WILL NOT affect your temperatures in any way. In fact, there is little to no benefits from one tubing size to another. It's all about personal preference.

However, I will say that smaller tubing is a lot easier to work with, especially in small cases or when creating bends.
Old May 9, 2013, 03:02 PM
MVP
F@H

My System Specs