Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2013, 11:06 PM
mataribot's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 77
Default

If you setup dual loops + correctly, you may have a slightly easier time cleaning your loop. Also, less rad on your GPU only loop. However, I'm not sure it's worth the cost and effort.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2013, 07:44 AM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default

A single loop where your rads share load is more efficient, I've tried both.

In my experience, 5/8" tubing is easier to work with, less prone to kinks- the difference in flow rate affecting temperature is negligible.
__________________
I rub and whack and choke and stroke!

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2013, 08:21 PM
mataribot's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 77
Default

Not about efficiency- it's about shaving a couple degrees on your cpu provided you don't have enough rad. GPUs are designed to run hot, so who cares if do.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2013, 06:49 AM
Warcrimes's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: PA (USA)
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

I guess ill add another rad in a single loop would save me alteast a couple bucks thanks for the input i really appreciate it .
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2013, 07:31 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,260

My System Specs

Default

a lot of guys will run water through one rad to cool the cpu and mobo (sometimes ram). Then they will run through another rad before hitting the vid card(s). If you are really wanting to push the limits you could also consider using a water cooling unit exactly like they use to maintain temps in high end fish tanks.
Aquarium Chillers & Fish Tank Chillers

I've seen a couple builds out there using these things but you really gotta understand dew point to prevent the blocks from sweating/condensation. Dew points change constantly... if you've ever seen a toilet sweat or have water around the tank. Same thing.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2013, 10:07 AM
Warcrimes's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: PA (USA)
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

its probably a little more than im doing im going to push my cpu the most, atleast 5.2 Ghz either 1155 or 2011 cpu type dunno yet 3X(xfire), Ill OC GPU's as well. mobo and eventually ram i dont understand OC'ing ram yet im still learning hence y im waiting
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2013, 10:48 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,260

My System Specs

Default

not to sure if OCing the ram is what a highly OC'd cpu can deal with. Simply having highly overclockable ram (high frequency) gives someone the head room to OC the cpu more. If anything people tend to drop the ram settings to stabilize a high OC... I have; in the past, water cooled ram and it was beneficial to stabilizing the cpu and squeezing a little more outta the cpu. While water cooling the ram has been debated over the years I had to try for myself and see and discovered it did help more than not.

Are you planning to maintain a heavy OC or is it just for testing/fun. Do you maintain a lower OC regularly?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2013, 01:32 AM
Warcrimes's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: PA (USA)
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Well ive OC my processor several times and the best settings i have found is @ 4.5Ghz and 4.8Ghz. MY goal is to break the 5Ghz mark and keep stable for benchmarking, gaming etc
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2013, 02:05 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 412

My System Specs

Default

I use a couple rads myself in one loop.

Last edited by nasrott; June 13, 2013 at 02:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Primochill Tubing or any good tubing with thick walls in Vancouver Lower Mainland? bjornbjorn Water Cooling 5 January 26, 2012 04:19 PM
Fitting/pump Help homer98 Water Cooling 20 December 2, 2010 08:23 PM
Need some barb/fitting advice (W/C noob) Aix Water Cooling 8 July 29, 2010 10:23 PM
Tubing, tubing... what to choose? Dazmode Water Cooling 16 June 23, 2009 02:32 PM
advice for updating tubing and pump. TAOTAO161 Water Cooling 15 February 5, 2009 10:31 PM