Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 12:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 53
Default Having the hardest time bleeding my loop

I posted this in my build log thread as well.

I'm having the hardest time bleeding my loop. =(

I posted on OCN (Swiftech H220 Owners' Club) regarding my pump. It seems like it just kept sucking air, and I was scared I damaged it.

H220 pump noise - YouTube

Swiftech says it's a problem with my loop design, so I've have to diassemble and re-think the loop. Here's what I had originally planned out.



In the above picture, the GPU is connected to the inlet port of the H220 pump. My thoughts were that the yellow fill tube would provide enough water to the H220 to keep the inlet tube full. For the most part it did, the inlet tube was never out of water. However the pump still continued to suck air and I didn't know why. Swiftech said that there was probably a big air pocket trapped in the pump that refused to come out. I spent almost 5 hours bleeding the loop and the problem still persisted.

The new setup now has the top rad going directly into the inlet of the pump. Problem is that my fill port is still on the graphics card (the yellow tube). It definitely doesn't look as nice, there are tubes cross all over the place. It's a little easier to fill, but I'm still in the process of bleeding.

Question is: should my original plan have been ok? If I add a t-block + fill line between the GPU and pump inlet, would that work better?
__________________

RFD Trader Feedback
My Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 03:29 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,074

My System Specs

Default

pic off your res and tubes.

actual Pic. please ?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 03:41 PM
stephengillon's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: fort frances, on
Posts: 32

My System Specs

Default

first and most basic ways its rocking the case back and forth slowly.

tipically the rads will always get a air lock, if you can unscrew them and carefully move them around the air will rush out.

your 120mm rad at top is your highest point there will be air lock for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 04:37 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,074

My System Specs

Default

try on its side with res the highest point.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 04:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 53
Default

No res, only a fill port connected to gpu block
__________________

RFD Trader Feedback
My Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 05:28 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,951

My System Specs

Default

I think you are going to have serious issues bleeding it w/o a reservoir in a system w/ that many blocks and radiators. A t-line would be fine but not with the videocard between it and the pump.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 05:54 PM
stephengillon's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: fort frances, on
Posts: 32

My System Specs

Default

just keep an eye on your water level, shouldnt be to bad really technically it would count as a res just small one.

just watch the air as it starts reaching the second rad and gpu turn your pump off and let air float up and out. then add more coolant and reapet
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 06:00 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,074

My System Specs

Default

one off these will help allot.

Swiftech MCRES-MICRO-R2 Clear HI-FLOW Water Cooling Reservoir 3/8IN & 1/2IN Barb Fittings

worth the money.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 06:01 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

You have to branch off from the outlet of the cpu block. Otherwise it won't prime properly.


Edit:

To explain better, it seems you're branching off so that the inlet on the cpu block is fed from the gpu. This means your pump won't prime without a lot of screwing around (if at all).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 08:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 53
Default

Yea, screwing around is an understatement. I just spent another 4 hours bleeding this thing, I can skip arms and chest day at the gym this weekend. Like stephengillon said, there's going to be a tiny bit of air locked in the top radiator, but it's settled at the top now. The loop change seems to have worked.

Gotta say, the pump is pretty quiet at 1600 RPM. There's the buzzing sound that's associated with the motor, and the vibration from a hard mount. Overall pretty impressed with the pump. Haven't done any overclocks yet, but CPU is at 60 deg, GPU at 49 deg. That's a 3570K at 3.8 and a 7950 at stock. Running Prime95 small FFT and Heaven 4.0 1 hour.
__________________

RFD Trader Feedback
My Heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Im bleeding. NSFW! Alpine Off Topic 25 November 9, 2012 09:27 AM
Quick Question about Bleeding b1ack1otus Display Units 6 October 6, 2012 03:56 PM
Bleeding swiftech mcres v2 geoc Water Cooling 13 September 30, 2012 12:46 AM
tri-fire loop, filling/bleeding vinister Water Cooling 17 May 18, 2008 10:30 PM
filling, bleeding and testing new loop magictorch Water Cooling 25 April 10, 2008 02:35 PM