Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2013, 05:20 PM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 237

My System Specs

Default How To Clean Dust From WC Rig?

hey guys,

just wondering how you guys go about cleaning the dust from you radiators?

I have a Corsair 600T with a 360 rad up top in push/pull.

All the dust had accumulated on the bottom of the rad from being sucked up. I blew out as much as I could with compressed air, but when i went to run the system I noticed a trickling noise in the loop, which i assumed was the loosened dust running through the system. It then consolidated into what looks like a dust/mold ball stuck to the side of my reservoir. the water was a little hazy from the dust, but cleared up after 5 minutes of run time.

Whats the best approach and is the dust ball in my reservoir a big deal?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2013, 06:34 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,549

My System Specs

Default

If you have a thin rad, it would be better to run your fans just in pull and then you can clean the rad a lot easier since there would be no fan covering where air is coming in. I think your only option right now is to take 3 fans off and clean it that way.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2013, 09:01 PM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

I use the DataVac and those cans of air have nothing on it its a beast... it pushes so much dust I actually found my girlfriend that I thought left me last year and it doesn't lose steam like those air cans...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2013, 10:01 AM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

+1 DataVac. last can of air I used was about two years ago
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 03:56 PM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 237

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungwirez View Post
+1 DataVac. last can of air I used was about two years ago
Anyone wanna sell their used units? :D Hate buying retail. :P
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2013, 07:13 PM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeOnePack View Post
Anyone wanna sell their used units? :D Hate buying retail. :P
if you buy compressed air your not doing your self any favors $40 for a 4 pack or $10 each or $60 for a data vac ??? I can easily use a couple of cans each time so for $60 its not a hard sell and the Data vac doesn't freeze up
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2013, 10:49 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 447

My System Specs

Default

I've not used it yet (my rig is only a few months old) but I have a hand held Shark vaccum that I would think would do fine cleaning out my computer. I use it on the keyboard for the crumbs that seem to migrate there. What makes the Data-Vac different?

Shark Europro Hand Vacuum | Canadian Tire
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2013, 12:18 AM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

it blows and doesn't suck!!!!!!!!!!!!!! also it is safe "Safer Than "Canned Air"
Blows clean, dry, filtered air safe for all computer/electronic equipment, printers, copiers, fax machines, digital cameras, etc. Condensation-free. Contains no dangerous propellants."

sucking can create static and zzzzzZAP there goes your PC
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2013, 01:01 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 482
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fortkentdad View Post
I've not used it yet (my rig is only a few months old) but I have a hand held Shark vaccum that I would think would do fine cleaning out my computer. I use it on the keyboard for the crumbs that seem to migrate there. What makes the Data-Vac different?

Shark Europro Hand Vacuum | Canadian Tire
There's always a risk of damaging electronics with a conventional vacuum via static. I have no idea how likely it is. There are ESD-safe vacuums made for electronics.

Quote:
MENDA ESD Safe Omega Vacuum Cleaner Conductive path-to-ground connection eliminates static electricity that may cause damage to sensitive electronic components. ESD vacuums dissipate static electricity to prevent damage to your valuable equipment.
Menda 35849 ESD Safe Omega Vacuum Field Cleaner Kit: Amazon.com: Industrial & Scientific
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2013, 09:38 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 447

My System Specs

Default

Ouch $325? At least the Data Vac can be had for under $100.00.

Will watch for one of those Data Vac's next time I'm shopping in the city.
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F120 bit the dust grinder Storage 1 August 8, 2012 06:32 AM
Dust 514 bissa Gaming 8 March 31, 2012 11:14 AM
My PS3 just bit the dust! cb2222 Gaming 20 September 8, 2009 07:52 PM
The Dust Box JayDee Cases 12 August 2, 2007 03:46 PM
how to get rid of dust? magictorch Water Cooling 12 July 2, 2007 08:59 PM