Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2013, 09:55 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default strange my idle temps is around 40

I am not sure what is going on but I was gaming a little bit yesterday when my system went all strange black screen I could see the mouse curse movin g around but that was it . after a few minutes of trying different things including ctl alt delete I ended up powering my system down with the power button. when my system was back up and running I looked at the idle temps and in is around 40 that is hot for my non OC watercooled system. I had 2 240 rads running in a single loop so I decided to pull it all apart make sure that there was no dust in the rads and then I put it back together with a single 240 rad and still am idling around 40 I might turn the pump up a bit to see if there is any real change but I am doubting it
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2013, 10:16 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

mite be something running in background or air pocket in rad/s or water block
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2013, 11:41 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

probably is I cranked up the pump to full and am going to start moving the case around in hopes that if there is any air pockets it will move into the reservoir
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2013, 12:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Do you have a clear reservoir? Can you actually see water flowing?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2013, 12:25 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

sure do the water is moving fast with the pump on high
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2013, 12:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

I'm going to assume that you reseated the cpu block when you redid the loop.....

Not an accurate reading but have you had a look to see what voltages are being reported by a monitoring program? Maybe something has gone south with your PSU and it's feeding too much vcore to the proc.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2013, 04:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

Don't pump too fast dude you can melt the impellor very easy to do if you are running the pump @ 24v. You'll basically flash boil water right after the impellor in the low pressure zone. I'm guessing you might need to reseat the cpu and check the voltages.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2013, 07:13 AM
lootbag's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 30

My System Specs

Default

If there is nothing strange with air pockets or dust in radiators, I would check the waterblock mount contact with CPU and GPUs based on the symptoms you listed (high idle temp and black screen when gaming).
Could be bad CPU + waterblock contact, as well as overtightened waterblock to GPU.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2013, 09:54 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

well I left the pump at 4 ( out of 5) over night and the temperature seems to have dropped down to 36 but even that seems to be a high and to be honest I don't seem to remember what my normal temperatures are supposed to be hehe.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2013, 04:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

Are you overclocking? My 1090 idles at a couple degrees over ambiant but I run it at stock. I'd have to check again what the temps were but I think it was around 25 ish ambient 18-20 Celcius
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2600k idle temps cmge Air Cooling 7 September 7, 2011 04:40 PM
idle i7 930 temps BrianHanna CPU's and Motherboards 7 December 31, 2010 06:11 AM
E8400 Idle temps? Realityshift Air Cooling 12 May 23, 2009 01:58 PM
Post your IDLE temps! BrianHanna Cases 28 February 23, 2009 09:58 AM
E8400 Idle Temps... rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 April 14, 2008 02:36 PM