Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 11:37 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default 3 rads how many pumps

looking in buy a d5 with a top curious would you buy two or would one be sufficient flow or would two run cooler
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 12:23 PM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

What else is in the loop, if you don't mind me asking?
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 02:01 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,072

My System Specs

Default

Radiators don't have much of a pressure drop compared to water blocks. So if you were only using a single waterblock you would likely be fine w/ just a single pump.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 03:20 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

ram waterblock, cpu waterblock, waiting for work to start up for a sli or tri sli setup. and if i can a motherboard block.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 05:22 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 954

My System Specs

Default

I ran a sli setp/mb wb and 2 radiators without an issue off a single 655b (thats te one without variable speed) and zero issues. My only issue with the MCP655b was make sure you have proper clamps or compression fittings, as that pump will blow the tubing right off the fitting if it isnt secured properly lol.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 05:46 PM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

One is suffice for flow but for redundancy a second would be nice, you probably wouldn't see any increase in performance with two pumps....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 07:05 PM
lootbag's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 30

My System Specs

Default

I am sort of in the same situation as you.
Currently, I am using a D5 Vario for 2 restrictive rads, CPU block and 2 GPU blocks.
Thinking of adding 2 more rads, a motherboard block and an aquaero block.

A D5 might not even be the right pump your looking for depending on how restrictive your blocks and radiators are.
I was looking at the MCP35X to replace my D5.
I think Bloodystumps is right, you won't see that much of a performance increase with two of the same pumps.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 07:19 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaydu View Post
looking in buy a d5 with a top curious would you buy two or would one be sufficient flow or would two run cooler
the second pump will add more heat dump to loop gaving a hit to perforumance

the D5 is strong enough for what you want to do
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2013, 07:19 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,457

My System Specs

Default

Like lowfat stated... rads are not that restrictive. They only technically do 2x 90* turns the piping inside the fins is pretty much laminar flow. Blocks on the other hand vary greatly on flow restrictions.

It would be nice if the IPT handbook included these kinds of fittings so guys could calculate total restrictions etc. That won't happen anytime soon though. Perhaps someone in the computer cooling industry will step up and make a handbook so we can correctly calculate and spec pumps speeds based on those numbers.

GPU blocks are basically globe valves imo if you can figure out how restrictive an elbow is an approximate number could be figured out for the blocks. In the end less 90 degree turns are better. I would think with as many blocks and rads as the fella above dual loops might produce lower temps.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.

Last edited by clshades; March 14, 2013 at 08:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2013, 12:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 25
Default

1 DCC will do, however, I like 2 for redundancy.
__________________
i7 3770K, 4.7GHz at 1.33V, ASROCK Z77 Extreme4, 2X4GB Patriot Viper Black Mamba DDR3 1600, GTX 590, 2 Corsair Force 3 120GB SSDs RAID 0,2 Barracuda 7200.10 500GB, Barracuda 7200.11 1000GB Back Ups, OCZ ZX 1250W, Z-5500s, LG Blu Ray Player/DVD Burner, Windows 7 X64 Pro, HAF X. Vision Quest 24" LCD, Optoma H66 Projector
Cooling: TC PA120.2 GT AP15 in push, DDC 3.25/XSPC Res top, EK Supremacy, XSPC Razor, Coolgate CG-240 Swiftech Helix in push/pull, MCP35X
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] 590 hydro copper, 980x, 12GB, UD9, SSDs, 2 pumps, 2 rads on and on..SOLD shane_p Buy/Sell & Trade 54 January 1, 2012 07:46 PM
[FS] TJ07 and a whole bunch of Watercooling Equipment : Rads, pumps, fittings, tubing.. Apollo4g Buy/Sell & Trade 18 March 17, 2010 02:29 PM
[FS] Rads, pumps, blocks, vid cards, water cooling extravaganza ect. Sniper Buy/Sell & Trade 186 May 1, 2009 09:17 PM
2 pumps ? Wasza Water Cooling 10 December 13, 2007 11:17 AM