Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2013, 01:39 AM
Hail Ceasar's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Castlegar, B.C.
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default Loop Leaked

Hey all,

I installed a new reservoir and had to replace some tubes due to length. Well one of the connections leaked and water flowed down my mobo when I turned on the system. (fired up the pump)

Now I am getting a screaming, single tone, beep.

I have taken out all of the cards and noted moisture in all the PCI slots... It's drying face down right now...

Have I FUBAR'd my system? Any suggestions?
__________________

Intel i7 Quad Core 920 @3.8GHz | eVGA X58 x3 SLI | HAF 932 | Corsair 1000w | WD SSD 256gb | WD 3200 1TB | Seagate 2TB | 6x2GB DDR3 Mushkin XP3| MSI GTX 680+EK WB| 24" BENQ E2400HD | 19" Samsung 953BW

Swiftech 655 | Swiftech MCR220 | Apogee GTZ+1366 | EK Spinbay Res | EK Waterblock | Primochill 5/8" | Bitspower Compression Fittings
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2013, 03:07 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Only time will tell. Do you have some canned air? That will help speed up the drying process.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2013, 04:55 AM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 447

My System Specs

Default

get a big bag of rice and stick your mobo in it for a couple days.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2013, 08:21 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Methyl Hydrate. Never use water in a water cooled setup. Or so I've heard.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2013, 09:36 AM
Hail Ceasar's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Castlegar, B.C.
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

I used air to get water out of the pci slots, ill be putting a fan on it today...
__________________

Intel i7 Quad Core 920 @3.8GHz | eVGA X58 x3 SLI | HAF 932 | Corsair 1000w | WD SSD 256gb | WD 3200 1TB | Seagate 2TB | 6x2GB DDR3 Mushkin XP3| MSI GTX 680+EK WB| 24" BENQ E2400HD | 19" Samsung 953BW

Swiftech 655 | Swiftech MCR220 | Apogee GTZ+1366 | EK Spinbay Res | EK Waterblock | Primochill 5/8" | Bitspower Compression Fittings
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2013, 11:51 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Ya, having it on while wet probably toasted it. Let it dry for 24 hours and try again. You might get lucky.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2013, 12:13 PM
Hail Ceasar's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Castlegar, B.C.
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

So I dried everything, quad-triple-checked the connections and fired her up....

She is running fine, no issues and still at 3.8ghz (on a i7-920) at 48 degrees!

I got lucky today, thanks for all the help~!
__________________

Intel i7 Quad Core 920 @3.8GHz | eVGA X58 x3 SLI | HAF 932 | Corsair 1000w | WD SSD 256gb | WD 3200 1TB | Seagate 2TB | 6x2GB DDR3 Mushkin XP3| MSI GTX 680+EK WB| 24" BENQ E2400HD | 19" Samsung 953BW

Swiftech 655 | Swiftech MCR220 | Apogee GTZ+1366 | EK Spinbay Res | EK Waterblock | Primochill 5/8" | Bitspower Compression Fittings
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2013, 01:46 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRQ Conflict View Post
Methyl Hydrate. Never use water in a water cooled setup. Or so I've heard.
never smoke around that stuff you may just light up the place

Methyl Hydrate is flammable and is used in phase change loop

note: may attack some tubing
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2013, 07:20 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Ah! Yes. I never thought about it eating some plastics. Thanks for the phase change info. I didn't know that. Don't people use another type of non conductive (electrical) liquid in water loops these days?

@ Hail Caesar, glad you got that working again.

Last edited by IRQ Conflict; January 10, 2013 at 07:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2013, 04:15 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wayupnorth, Canukistan
Posts: 39

My System Specs

Default

Distilled water with a silver coil is all I use and get great temps. Water stays nice and clear in rez.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Loop or Dual Loop? Pump enough for single? MattC Water Cooling 5 May 31, 2011 07:19 PM
Crysis 2 Leaked Ryeguy151 Gaming 40 February 17, 2011 10:26 PM
Another loop order, single/dual loop thread... turtletrax Water Cooling 8 July 28, 2010 08:40 PM
Leaked Capacitor in my PSU? hen555 Troubleshooting 1 May 19, 2009 02:45 PM
ATI RV870 Leaked! th3b00m Press Releases & Tech News 36 May 18, 2009 01:57 PM