Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 06:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 43

My System Specs

Default Flow is too low with two pumps.

Got a bit of a problem here. Modded a Corsair 200R to fit a 360 rad in the front. Found a YouTube video of a 200R with a 360 rad and seemed like a simple enough project. Thought I could do with a single Liang D5 pump. Coolant dies make its way through but there is air in the lines around the rad. It's setup now with another D5 in serial but the problem persists. Aside from the rad the loop has a Koolance Cpu-370 and EK 7970 gpu block. Not sure where I messed up but maybe the rad since it is old.

Ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 06:27 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

add more fluid sounds if you got air pockets or sucking air into loop via loose hose
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 06:43 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Yep. You don't need 2 pumps for that small of a line.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 06:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 43

My System Specs

Default

Well now I found a leak on the output on the rad. Seems another 90 degree adapter fitting has gone. And you are right I should not need a second pump. At all. Nothing is loose. It's just that once a certain amount of fluid is in the bubbles or air pocket won't move. And tipping the case doesn't work either. My previous builds haven't been this frustrating in a long time.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 08:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 43

My System Specs

Default

Just a quick update. I've replaced the leaky 90 degree adapter with two 45 degree adapters. I don't have any other adapter fittings to use so that will have to do for now. The ironic part is that this was supposed to be a quick build so I could mod my cosmos case and still have a pc. So my only recourse is to still try to tip the case to get the last bit of air out? If so I might have to leave it until after boxing day. Working retail sucks this time of year.

. . . Sorry that wasn't a quick update at all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 09:01 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Pulse the pump with the res open to purge any bubbles out of the line, and try shaking it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 09:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 43

My System Specs

Default

Have been doing that and made some progress but it is late and I'll have to continue this tomorrow or later.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 10:45 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 631

My System Specs

Default

Variable speed D5? When I refill a loop I generally turn my pump up to 5 and then rock the case backwards and forwards and side to side with the res lid on loosely to get all of the air out of the upper rad.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 05:47 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mnemonicman View Post
Just a quick update. I've replaced the leaky 90 degree adapter with two 45 degree adapters. I don't have any other adapter fittings to use so that will have to do for now. The ironic part is that this was supposed to be a quick build so I could mod my cosmos case and still have a pc. So my only recourse is to still try to tip the case to get the last bit of air out? If so I might have to leave it until after boxing day. Working retail sucks this time of year.

. . . Sorry that wasn't a quick update at all.


is what i use to fill a loop by having the hose off and and fill till comes out other end

note: with hoses above all water cooling equipment and exit is in a jug to catch spill off.


ever play with a maze with a ball bearing? thats what you gotta do move the air pockets to the top of loop


fluid is heavier then air
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 10:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 43

My System Specs

Default

Both pumps are fixed speed D5. Yeah I'll have to rotate the case to get the air pocket at the inlet to the rad out the other side. Haven't had to do that since my first watercooling build which had the same rad. Shows me for assuming it being a short project.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reservoirs/Pumps: Need a little bit of help... JORD4N Water Cooling 3 March 10, 2011 09:38 PM
Anybody tried Danger Den pumps? Dazmode Water Cooling 21 July 12, 2009 03:50 PM
New DD pumps @ NCIX Cptn Vortex Water Cooling 20 September 4, 2008 07:20 PM
2 pumps ? Wasza Water Cooling 10 December 13, 2007 10:17 AM