Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2012, 02:26 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default Coolit Eco II 120, not mounting tight enough.

I have a Coolit ECO II 120 I received as a replacement for my Eco I and I recently took it off my system cause I didnt think it was performing well. I recently popped it back in to compared it with EVGA Superclock air cooler that I've been using for the last few months. I am now finding that its not mounting tight enough and thus the poor performance. I mounted it as tight as I could by hand and with a screw driver yet the thermal paste barely seems to spread. I would have to guess its like half a mm too short of mounting right. It makes contact with the cpu but just barely. Using MSI X58M motherboard. ECO II 120 is basically a Corsair H60.

Is it normal that it would sit a little bit high? Load temps are in the high 70's with hyperthreading disabled on my i7 960 @ 4.0ghz. It was low 60s on my EVGA superclock. Using the same fans in a push pull on either setup.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2012, 02:31 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,757

My System Specs

Default

Are you hitting anything around the CPU socket? If the paste isn't spreading that's my first guess.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2012, 03:35 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default

Doesn't appear so, it just seems like if the screws had one extra thread or so everything would be fine. Nothing on the pump/mounting hardware is outside that white line of reserved space for heatsinks on my mobo. Doesn't look like its hitting anything as far as I can tell.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2013, 11:02 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default

Received some new hardware from them a few months ago and only got around to installing it over the weekend. There must of been an issue with some of the old hardware as everything is mounting nice and tight now. Temps are great too. Its about -5c lower than my EVGA superclock cooler so all in all I am very happy.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coolit Eco ALC 120 RMA, Coolit Customer Service = Awesome igot6strings Water Cooling 16 September 10, 2012 12:56 PM
Tight budget what to do? xtreme1 New Builds 7 February 28, 2011 02:11 PM
How tight is tight ht_addict Video Cards 3 October 1, 2010 11:45 AM
[WTB] CoolIT ECO A.L.C. mounting retainer for intel Chere Buy/Sell & Trade 2 September 23, 2010 12:34 PM
How tight is tight? Beermaster Water Cooling 5 July 18, 2009 08:10 PM