Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 06:21 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,520

My System Specs

Default Flow dynamics of a drain line?



I'm planning out the loop on my latest build, and since this is my first WC'd vid card it's opened up some possibilities I haven't had with previous loops so I wanted to pick the brains of folks who've been there before, or possibly who might have formal training in flow dynamics.

Seems like a simple task, as per the image above I'm thinking about adding a tube with a ball shutoff valve to one of the lower vid card block ports which would make draining the loop super easy, and also allow me to do so outside of the case without actually having to disturb any of the loop components. What I'm concerned about is if having what is essentially a res at the bottom of my card's WB is going to have an adverse affect on flow through the block or (like a closed hydraulic loop) will it effectively "invisible" to the loop once it's full?

Any ideas?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 07:28 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Best place for a drain tube is immediately after the reservoir otherwise you always fight for the liquid to come oi5.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 08:49 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

Best spot for a drain is at the lowest possible spot. Like enaberif suggest is where i have my drain lines. I use a t off of one of the ports on my reservoir. Drains super fast.
__________________
heatware
ebay
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 09:29 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,520

My System Specs

Default

Because I'm using a bay res, the point I've selected is the lowest point in the loop.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 10:01 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,944
Default

never run pump to drain

as rest said lowest point of the loop and a bleed air from the highest point in loop to drain fully
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 11:07 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,520

My System Specs

Default

Maybe I'm not explaining my loop well enough.......

top rad,5 1/4 bay res/pump combo, cpu block, vga block.

As it stands, the lowest point in my loop is the bottom port(s) of the VGA block (designed for SLI) and I can open the fill port on the res to provide open air to ease the flow. I'm not talking about running a pump to drain it, and the VGA is going to be feeding the res so in all honesty, the opposite side of that fitting is the same as the lowest port of the res only lower.

Now onto the question I'm wondering about.... on a 4 port VGA block without sli, will having a 6" tube on one of the rear ports (for SLI and thus would normally just be plugged) with a plug and/or draincock (closed except for draining loop) affect the normal flow of the VGA block?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 11:13 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,082

My System Specs

Default

It should be fine. I ran a T in the bottom of a loop, and when I added dye I watched it. The fluid flows right by the capped off section as there's no flow, just pressure. It took DAYS for the fluid in the drain line to equalize in color with the rest of the loop.

But like I said in chat the other day, the easiest way to do without a drain or T is to tip the case on it's front (on something soft to avoid scratching). The res becomes the lowest part of the loop, and you drain through the fill port.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 11:24 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,520

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
It should be fine. I ran a T in the bottom of a loop, and when I added dye I watched it. The fluid flows right by the capped off section as there's no flow, just pressure. It took DAYS for the fluid in the drain line to equalize in color with the rest of the loop.

But like I said in chat the other day, the easiest way to do without a drain or T is to tip the case on it's front (on something soft to avoid scratching). The res becomes the lowest part of the loop, and you drain through the fill port.
Cool!!!! That's exactly the kind of hands-on experience I was looking for. :)

I understand the concerns about leaks and am willing to take that risk. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 01:29 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,082

My System Specs

Default

My original thought yesterday was that you were just going to remove the stop fitting and drain from there, which would spray around a bit. I'd be way more comfortable with a drain tube. I usually make mine long enough to run outside the case.

Edit: Just had a thought. The flow from the opposite port will tend to try to push into that tube rather than make an angle and go through the block. It should be ok once the loop is full, but watch your flow while filling. This is one case where I'd definitely disconnect the CPU and GPU until you know that you've got good flow through the loop. The blocks heat up fast if there's no flow, as I found out the hard way.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 01:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,520

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
My original thought yesterday was that you were just going to remove the stop fitting and drain from there, which would spray around a bit. I'd be way more comfortable with a drain tube. I usually make mine long enough to run outside the case.

Edit: Just had a thought. The flow from the opposite port will tend to try to push into that tube rather than make an angle and go through the block. It should be ok once the loop is full, but watch your flow while filling. This is one case where I'd definitely disconnect the CPU and GPU until you know that you've got good flow through the loop. The blocks heat up fast if there's no flow, as I found out the hard way.
Your memory isn't failing you, that was my initial line of thought, but it evolved into a drain tube which should make life a lot easier.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about drain Hose fyshawk New Builds 2 June 22, 2012 05:38 PM
Drain port martin_metal_88 Water Cooling 21 June 14, 2010 06:37 PM
Cooler Master Presents a New Flagship to the High Air Flow Line: HAF X mikellini Press Releases & Tech News 12 May 28, 2010 04:13 PM
Circuit City Flushed Down the Drain FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 23 January 22, 2009 10:02 AM
drain???? WolfBane Water Cooling 29 July 13, 2008 09:10 AM