Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 05:58 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default Flow, is there a general rule

Just curious should I add a second pump??


cpu: koolance CPU-340
Ram: I have no clue the brand but its a waterblock
GPU: 2x koolance N460GTX
res & Pump: koolance RP-401x2 Res, Storm DDC 3.25 18w pump(should I get a second one)
Rads: XSPC RX240s ( might up grade one to a Black Ice xtreme 360)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 09:50 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I've always run single pumps in the loops I've done and for a previous build with 4 blocks and 2 rads I had good flow with just the one pump. I think the only point to using a second pump is for redundancy in the situation that the first pump dies. Just make sure that you plumb in your loop methodically and use the least amount of tubing as possible.
__________________

Last edited by dandelioneater; October 14, 2012 at 10:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 09:55 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,278

My System Specs

Default

I have wondered about the speed of the flow, my pump is adjustable and I have the speed set about half, I wonder if there would be any difference in temperature if I changed it
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 10:06 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I have wondered about the speed of the flow, my pump is adjustable and I have the speed set about half, I wonder if there would be any difference in temperature if I changed it

From what others have said on the subject, the temperature of the water in the loop reaches equilibrium, so the flowrate doesn't really matter as long as it is moving at a decent rate. If you have decent flow then it really doesn't make much difference for temperatures. Iemperature is mostly dependant on the amount of radiator surface area.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 10:12 AM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 420

My System Specs

Default

I like two pumps strictly for redundancy.
good thing too, cause this happened last month.
was able to run loop on single pump till back up arrived.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 10:36 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandelioneater View Post
From what others have said on the subject, the temperature of the water in the loop reaches equilibrium, so the flowrate doesn't really matter as long as it is moving at a decent rate. If you have decent flow then it really doesn't make much difference for temperatures. Iemperature is mostly dependent on the amount of radiator surface area.

well that is my question, really what is a decent flow rate? I have 4 blocks and 2 what I would think are large rads.

I do like the redundancy of a second pump. but for the price of a new pump I am wonder if I should just upgrade to the d5 pumps and loose my front bay res..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 11:04 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I just look at my reservoir and check to see that there is some turbulence in there. That way I know that there is movement of fluid.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 11:19 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,786

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungwirez View Post
I like two pumps strictly for redundancy.
good thing too, cause this happened last month.
was able to run loop on single pump till back up arrived.
There is a good chance the damage was caused because you were using two pumps. That is if you were running them at full speed. Too much flow is bad for DDCs as it causes the pumps to run very hot. The less restrictive the loop the hotter they run. You do not want much more than 1 GPM w/ DDCs unless you have heatsinks on them.


Now as to the original question, flow really doesn't matter all that much. As long as you are getting 0.2 GPM or more your temps should be fine. It generally would be less than 1C difference between 0.2 GPM and 1 GPM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 11:45 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,844
Default

another factor of a second pump is heat dump added to the loop

for system safety in bios set cpu Max temp to shut-down in avent pump failure

Last edited by KaptCrunch; October 14, 2012 at 11:49 AM. Reason: info
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 07:45 PM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 420

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
There is a good chance the damage was caused because you were using two pumps. That is if you were running them at full speed. Too much flow is bad for DDCs as it causes the pumps to run very hot. The less restrictive the loop the hotter they run. You do not want much more than 1 GPM w/ DDCs unless you have heatsinks on them.
I figured that. Thanks for validating it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bell"s Trying To Rule Your World Again!! howpet Off Topic 6 September 3, 2012 05:52 AM
[FS] PLEASE CLOSE AS I BELIEVE I HAVE BROKEN A UNWRITTEN RULE Soullessone21 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 August 9, 2012 12:08 PM
Hey Daz you rule! clshades Water Cooling 9 November 13, 2011 08:04 AM
[FS] How not to respond to a Mod while breaking a buy&sell rule Sniper Buy/Sell & Trade 8 January 20, 2009 05:32 AM
CRTC to rule on Bell's throttling Nov 20th @ 9am Chilly Off Topic 11 November 20, 2008 09:13 AM