Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 12:44 AM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 628

My System Specs

Default

No real need for a second pump in that setup. Unless that ram block is extremely restrictive you should have pretty good flow.The effect of flowrate on temperature is not a linear function and once you are past a certain point (which is dependent on your hardware, but seems to be ~1gpm) there is very little gain to be had. There is some room for improvement as more turbulent flow is more efficient at heat transfer etc. , but it's not that much. IE: I run variable speed D5s and my max temp is only 2* lower on setting 5 than on setting 1 (prime95 + furmark 1 hour).
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2012, 12:36 PM
concinnity's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 129

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandelioneater View Post
I think the only point to using a second pump is for redundancy in the situation that the first pump dies. Just make sure that you plumb in your loop methodically and use the least amount of tubing as possible.
I agree. Unless you are running a massive loop, dual pumps are excessive. If you are worried about the pump failing, a system will shut down when temps get too high. Your system will be down, but not broken. Might be good to have a spare pump on hand though. To put it in perspective, ( http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...g-lian-li.html ) is a pretty big loop, and he only uses one pump.
__________________
Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 09:59 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,688
Default

In my tests temps start climbing really badly if you go below 1L/m.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bell"s Trying To Rule Your World Again!! howpet Off Topic 6 September 3, 2012 05:52 AM
[FS] PLEASE CLOSE AS I BELIEVE I HAVE BROKEN A UNWRITTEN RULE Soullessone21 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 August 9, 2012 12:08 PM
Hey Daz you rule! clshades Water Cooling 9 November 13, 2011 08:04 AM
[FS] How not to respond to a Mod while breaking a buy&sell rule Sniper Buy/Sell & Trade 8 January 20, 2009 05:32 AM
CRTC to rule on Bell's throttling Nov 20th @ 9am Chilly Off Topic 11 November 20, 2008 09:13 AM