Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2012, 08:33 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default Thinking of going to one loop.

I'm planning on getting into a new build before long. My 1st gen cosmos is getting a little long in the tooth and I'm still rockin' a Q6600 (@3.8GHz) and GTX280. I'm not feeling the pinch yet that I need to upgrade right now so I'm starting to plan a future build. I've got a couple years of games to get caught up on and I'd like to go back to ATI, I use AutoCAD a lot and it just likes ATI. And I'll probably end up on a i5 as well.

Anyway, currently I have a loop for the CPU and another for the GPU/mobo. I still plan to O/C but I'm to a point that the last 1 or 2C is less important than the last 1 or 2dB. In my current system the GPU easily puts out a lot more heat than the CPU but I don't know if more modern cards are better but I'm wondering if I'm shooting my self in the foot if I put it all in a single loop... since the GPU will do a good job of keeping the CPU warm.

I guess I have a lot more to talk about but I'd like to get some opinions on this first. Just looking for some input to get me started.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2012, 08:42 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,126

My System Specs

Default

I had a 3930k and a 580 in the same loop on a 3x120 rad with no issues.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2012, 08:58 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Did the heat that the vid card dumped into the system hold you back O/Cing the CPU? Again I don't know the new stuff, maybe the modern GPU's are much less offensive heat wise. FWIW I'm still way preliminary here but looking at running two 2x200mm rads,. I at least see they exist but want to look further into haw they compare to 120mm equipment performance wise.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2012, 10:14 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,074

My System Specs

Default

2 x 200mm radiators is a lot of rad. Pair them w/ decent fans and you'll have no problem cooling a CPU and a GPU. You should even be able to keep fan speeds relatively low.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2012, 10:57 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default

thats a huge amount of raddage, im running a 570 and a i5 500k both OCd painlessly on a 2x180mm.....

Last edited by Evochuck; September 28, 2012 at 11:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2012, 11:24 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,126

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
Did the heat that the vid card dumped into the system hold you back O/Cing the CPU?
The difference without the GPU in the loop was about 4-5 degrees at load. I'm fairly conservative with my CPU, don't like going over 65.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2012, 08:06 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Thanks for the input. I'm not 100% sure yet on the 2x200mm might be a 3X140mm... I haven't settled on a chassis yet and I'll have to get it in hand and tear it down to make measurements to see what I will actually get. I'm still stuck in temporary housing and won't see any of my tools for a few months atleast so I got a lot of time to plan this out. My plan though is for huge surface area so the fans can run slow enough to read the labels on them.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2012, 10:50 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,700
Default

You get extra heat from GPUs, but impact will be minimal. Let say you get your liquid goes from 30c to 34c or so, but your cpu wont go up proportionally to that if you cooling capacity is not strained. Also, you can get additional kick and redundancy by putting both of your pumps in series.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2012, 07:21 PM
Simpleton's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 40

My System Specs

Default

I have just upgraded from what you have to the Ivy-Bridge 3570k and the Asrock Z77 Extreme 6 which accepts older 775 waterblocks which was my reason for choosing it over an Asus board,not too mention it's damn pretty and a good overclocker.If you have the cash to use all new watercooling then you have more choice with the M/B,I would have got the Asrock Z77 O/C Formula but it doesn't have the extra 775 holes unfortunately because I love the watercooled chipsets!Because of the Ivy-Bridge thermal paste problem I wouldn't suggest including a Gpu in the loop.Myself I change video cards too often to have a wet gpu,not very economical!New cards are only noisy when they are loaded like in games where I couldn't hear them over the blasting headphones anyways:)Ok I upgraded my platform for 440$ after selling my old parts to my dad for 160$ which made it very easy on the wallet.He's loving my used Q6600 at 3ghz with 240ssd and I'm sure you could also find a home for you'r old parts.I guess what I am trying to say is planning ahead is very important and you'r on the right track,good luck!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking of getting this kit. Birk Water Cooling 8 December 25, 2011 05:07 PM
Single Loop or Dual Loop? Pump enough for single? MattC Water Cooling 5 May 31, 2011 08:19 PM
Thinking of a new SFF F@H PC ilya New Builds 7 November 19, 2010 02:17 PM
Another loop order, single/dual loop thread... turtletrax Water Cooling 8 July 28, 2010 09:40 PM
Not sure what I was thinking but...... kruzn4evr Display Units 42 March 9, 2009 07:48 PM