Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 18, 2012, 11:02 AM
MVP

Default An experiment I'd like to try, thoughts?

So I've been thinking a bit about odd cooling methods and one idea that stuck in my head was submerging a rad in mineral oil or even water and using an aquarium pump and flat air stone(s) to pump air bubbles thru the rad. I'm thinking this would cool the liquid inside the rad quicker than air and give an overall lower temp.
What you folks think? I'd be open to testing it myself if you folks think the results would be worth the effort. I have a coolit eco ALC that i'm doing nothing with that I can slap into a system to test temps with.

Did I mention I'm an awesome artist?
Attached Images

Old September 18, 2012, 11:10 AM
F@H

My System Specs

The problem with using any liquid as a cooling medium (as opposed to air over the fins of a radiator) is that it holds it's temperature once it absorbs the heat. Submerged systems look cool, but the thermals keep going up until every component ends up at a relatively high temperature. Using water on a large scale (such as nuke plants) works because the source of water is a large body and thus acts as a huge heat sink.

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Old September 18, 2012, 12:19 PM
MVP

Thats why I thought the air stone would be a good addition. Rather than using fans I'd put the flat air stones up against the rad to push the air bubbles thru and out of the container. The container could be capped and the pressure would force the warm humid air out thru another piece of aquarium tubing much how a terrarium humidifier would work. The water/oil in theory shouldn't be any more than room temp if the air bubbles can take the heat out with them.
Old September 18, 2012, 08:18 PM
Allstar

My System Specs