Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2008, 09:34 PM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default Moar Watercooling!

So as the title no doubt suggests ever so slightly, I am interested in watercooling MORE of my pc, namely my proc. Now the issue with this is that I want it to be ALL internal and my top space is already taken with a MCR220 for the gpu, so I am pondering what I could possibly do to make the situation better.

Now, I figure that with some modifications I could fit another MCR220 into the section that is supposed to be a drive bay, but thats really not ideal, would it be okay to get 2x120mm rads, 1 placed on the rear 120mm fan mount and 1 on what is currently my intake? Don't know if this is going to impede flow too much though, and if it IS okay, whats my best bet for a rad? At this point the MCR220 will likely be cooling my cpu, to reduce clutter.

Any helpful ideas?
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2008, 11:00 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

Well a PA120.1 in the rear would be best and you could probably put one on the intake in front of the Videocards as well. Those should give you some killer temps. I think that braket at the top of the mobo tray might need to be cut to work with a rear Rad though. (looking in my case as I type)

Apart from that...maybe sit a RAD on top of your Powersupply? (That is if you have it with it's 120mm fan pointing up?)

Where else can you stick a RAD....hmmmm Get a Scythe Kama Bay and stick a MCR120 behind it?
You can get a lot of RADs into this thing!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2008, 07:58 AM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

What about multiple smaller rads? Cause a bigger one wouldn't have anywhere to vent...isn't that a no-no? When I accidently blocked off my top vent with a pizza box my temps rose by 5 degrees in a matter of 2 minutes. I know the small rads aren't as cost-effective, but I am willing to make concessions, maybe a PA160 sitting in the drive bay perhaps? I will only have 1 hdd that is actually inside my machine once my next NCIX order arrives at my door, so she can just slide into the floppy bay.

The PSU is a neat idea, and one that I might look at, but won't the bottom mobo-tray bracket block it?
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2008, 10:22 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

Maybe you mis understood. A PA120.1 and MCR120 are both single 120mm RADs. I think it should be fine, so long as you have a half decent pump. Either MCP655 or 355. I might actually try this, who knows! (already have 2 x Dual120mm RAds, you can always have moar!)
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2008, 02:36 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Something to keep in mind is that any time you have two rads using the same air, the second rad is going to be operating at much reduced efficiency. So if one rad is on the intake side of the airflow and the other is on the exhaust side, the exhaust is going to be forced to work with pre-heated air. It'll probably still work fine, but the amount of heat that you can dump won't scale linearly.

How bad the effect is will depend on how powerful your fans are (more powerful=less of a problem), and whether there are alternate sources of intake air besides through the first rad. Just something to consider.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2008, 08:08 PM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Cptn, yeah I misread that, thought was talking dual 120mm rads for some reason, duh, teaches me a lesson about reading forums just after waking up:).


Also, my idea was(tentatively) to reverse my intake fan so it is also blowing outward and add an intake somewhere. Not sure WHERE yet, I could always replace some of my 5.25" bay covers with a grill or something and place an intake there(not ideal, but its an idea).

The pump I'd be using is the MCP655, it really is a nice pump, quiet and it seems powerful enough. Would I want to consolidate all this into a single loop though or break it down, GPU/s on one, CPU on the other. I'm not particularly concerned about the chipsets, I don't overclock very much, I mostly like the WCing for the quiet/awesome factor.
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2008, 08:40 PM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

So I looked my loop over and I am trying to figure out whether or not I can do this in a single loop. My aim is:

Pump-->120.1-->GPU-->120.1-->CPU-->MCR220-->Res-->REPEAT!


But....is my pump powerful enough for this? I think my temps should be okay, since I am gonna be dumping my heat ASAP after each component....if this is a stupid idea lemme know please.
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2008, 09:47 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

Hey, get a front Scythe Kama Bay. It is what I use, put a 120mm fan in the top 3 5.25" bays. Woot!


__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2008, 10:00 PM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Oh I definately like that, manages to make the front look smoother as well, exactly what I'm looking for. But that still begs the question, is a tri-rad loop doable or am I better off spending the extra cash to run a second loop? I am really not into WCing for the ultra-low temps, they would be nice, but ultimately for me its a matter of noise/bling factor.

2 loops worries me as I'm really not sure if I want to add yet another pump to this case, its already sort of crowded down there as is.
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2008, 10:06 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

Hmm. Is there any reason other than looks why you dont want to put a dual or tripple rad externally on a Radbox? I think it actually looks really good on these cases. It's pretty! And the temps speak for themselves. You could run everything in a single loop, like mine. CPU GPU and chipset, with your 2 Rads, and your pump is WAY more than enough. Heck I just put 4 Scythe Ultra Kaze fans, on a fan controller, running at 1500RPM, and saw my load temps go down 8 degrees. I'm diggin it!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes