Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2012, 01:55 PM
snef's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick
Posts: 49
Default enough flow for my loop

my question is
after adding component in my loop do will have enough flow?
now i have 1 Gpm (taken from Koolance flow meter)
this is what i have in my loop
it wil be more easy with a pic


Swiftech Apogee HD
Koolance Rampage IV extreme water block
2 x Kollance HD7970 water block in serial
3 x EX360 rad
a lot of 90 degree fiting
a Koolance flow metter
2 x Koolance quick disconnect
on this loop, i have 3.750 LpM (1 GpM) with 2 D5 Vario at speed 5 (in serial)
i will had another HD7970 and 2 x EK Dominator GT water block
do you think my flow will be to low?
if i connect my GPU in Parallel, this will help for having a better flow?
do you think my both pump will be enough???
or its a perfect setup for a pair of DDC 3.25 ?
or i need to do 2 separate loop?
thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2012, 02:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 29
Default

I think your pumps are more then enough for this setup. One pump might be pushing it with 3 Rads and all those components and fittings, but two will for sure be good.

I had my Video Cards in both Serial and Parallel and did not really notice a difference in temps or flow rate.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2012, 02:33 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Should be fine. So long as the fluid is moving at a decent rate you are good. Nice build by the way.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2012, 04:03 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,044

My System Specs

Default

Flow rate is hugely overrated. Anything over 0.2 gpm will be fine. I would suggest removing the flow meter though. The Koolance meters have something like a 30% pressure drop.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2012, 07:25 PM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Flow rate is hugely overrated. Anything over 0.2 gpm will be fine. I would suggest removing the flow meter though. The Koolance meters have something like a 30% pressure drop.
the meter itself causes the drop ... or is it just inaccurate reading?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2012, 07:28 PM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

The meter itself I believe.
__________________
Friends don't let friends use onboard video.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2012, 08:14 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,044

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keywork View Post
The meter itself I believe.
Correct. They are rather restrictive. But I guess with two pumps he shouldn't ever have a problem with flow rate, even with the flow meter.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flow sensor clshades Water Cooling 2 March 27, 2012 07:24 PM
Flow Rate? MattC Water Cooling 7 August 10, 2011 10:24 PM
Case with best air flow? Quirck Cases 7 May 23, 2011 08:30 PM
Another loop order, single/dual loop thread... turtletrax Water Cooling 8 July 28, 2010 08:40 PM
u2-ufo horizon air flow stormkiller22 Cases 0 March 28, 2008 03:19 PM