Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 06:10 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sioux Lookout, ON
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default Pump questions with new build

I am putting together a new loop and I am trying to sort out wether I will need to add a 2nd pump to what I already have.

Current loop consists of

Koolance 401X2 --> DDC 3.25 18W Pump --> XSPC EX240 --> Raystorm --> EK RIVE chipset block --> EK RIVE VRM block --> Serial EK GPU Blocks --> Phobya 200mm Rad --> back to res

My new loop will go something like this

Koolance 401X2 (or Tube sytle res depends on tube routing) --> DDC 3.25 18W Pump --> Nexxxos UT60 --> Nexxxos UT60 --> Raystorm --> EK RIVE chipset block --> EK RIVE VRM block --> Parallel EK GPU Blocks --> Back to res

Add in multiple 90, 45 degree adapters and some koolanec QDC fittings

Will the single 18w DDC be able to handle the loop?

Cheers,

Chris
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Intel i7 3930k | Crucial 4x4Gb | OCZ Vertex 3 MaxIOPS 240GB | WD Velociraptor 1TB | Nvidia 680GTX SLI | Win8 Pro 64 | EK Supremecy | 2 x Alphacool XT45 360 | 2x EK - FC680 | 2x Liang DDC 3.25 | Swiftech Malestorm Res | Case Labs M8 |
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 08:41 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I would think that a single pump would be ok to handle that. I ran 2 rads, 3 universal gpu blocks in parallel (with 90 degree fittings), ek supreme cpu block and a res, on that inexspensive ek pump (forget the name). I had more than adequate flow.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 10:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 164
Default

Should be no problem, but I'll never trust a single DDC unless I have something to monitor flow rates or temps to shut off in the event of a pump failure (which isn't uncommon with DDC's).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2012, 01:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KylSp View Post
Should be no problem, but I'll never trust a single DDC unless I have something to monitor flow rates or temps to shut off in the event of a pump failure (which isn't uncommon with DDC's).
Plug the pump header into your cpu fan header, no motherboards will boot with no fan or pump plugged into the cpu fan header. One pump is all you need for almost any size loop unless you want the reinsurance of two pumps.

Last edited by leepord geko; June 20, 2012 at 04:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2012, 08:22 PM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

I've never plugged anything into my CPU fan header. of course ASUS provide an off (ignore) switch in bios.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2012, 12:59 PM
Zer0's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leepord geko View Post
no motherboards will boot with no fan or pump plugged into the cpu fan header.
All my mobos boot just fine with nothing plugged into the CPU header.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build Questions donny25 New Builds 4 March 1, 2010 10:03 AM
i7 build questions cdbusby New Builds 13 February 26, 2010 01:31 PM
Some questions with a new i7 build kretzm New Builds 4 June 23, 2009 03:37 PM
questions about a 5 HD build philmar New Builds 28 March 23, 2009 08:09 AM
A few questions about my new build Matt New Builds 12 December 12, 2008 06:22 PM