Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 04:14 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default Radiator question

Guys planning a new loop for my build.. Going to be cooling the following:

i5 3570k
GTX670
Using an MCP655 pump..

Wondering if I should go for a single 120.3 rad or a dual 120.2 rad?
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 06:45 AM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 439

My System Specs

Default

Dual as in 2 fans side by side or 4 total? I would go for a 240mm vs a 120 if thats what your asking. Just so it gives you headroom
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 07:16 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

I meant one 360 rad vs 2x240 rads
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 07:59 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I cool my 2600k + 590 hydrocopper just fine with 1-120x240mm and 1-120x120mm rad. I put the 120 rad between the cpu and gpu in the loop so the gpu doesn't get hot water from the cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 08:07 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

I've also been looking at the 650d, it's disappointing you can't fit a 60mm rad up top.. can you fit a second dual rad in the front in place of the hdd cages?

Main reason I'm trying to avoid a full tower, but if having the triple makes a difference, then so be it
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 08:25 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,043

My System Specs

Default

A 2 x 140mm radiator has similar surface area to a 3x120mm. Slightly less. However 140mm fans generally suck. Pair the radiator w/ a 120mm Gentle Typhoon and the Bgears 140mm adapters and you'll be golden. Case and radiator choice is important. There are 140mm radiators that use a fan spacing of 20mm and others that use 16mm. Most cases uses 20mm so be careful what you buy. You'll end up a problem like this.

__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 09:01 AM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

huh... never saw those bgears adapters... nice shroud fix too. thanks LF.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 02:57 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Thanks folks.. let me ask this too then, maybe this question will clear stuff..
Is it worth watercooling a single GTX670 card, since these don't get too hot?
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 07:00 AM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 439

My System Specs

Default

Just the GPU? No probably not. I would add the cpu to the loop as well
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 07:24 AM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
I cool my 2600k + 590 hydrocopper just fine with 1-120x240mm and 1-120x120mm rad. I put the 120 rad between the cpu and gpu in the loop so the gpu doesn't get hot water from the cpu.
Actually, the water temperature reaching a cooling point that equalizes through the loop. The only way of properly preventing the GPU/CPU from influencing temperature levels is to have 2 separate loops; one for the GPU and one for the CPU. It's better as well if you ever have to change either component with proper shut-off valves in place.

I had no problems cooling off my old i7970 with the dual GPU 5970 with my 120.3-
4.2ghz on the cpu. Only problem was the room got toasty
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Radiator Fudd Rucker Buy/Sell & Trade 0 August 10, 2010 09:47 AM
Radiator Question HumorusPrawn Water Cooling 4 February 7, 2010 01:30 AM
Question about Danger Den radiator barb fittings AERo Water Cooling 16 March 31, 2009 11:23 AM
Radiator Question Scart Water Cooling 22 March 12, 2008 01:49 AM
Radiator? nick_black Water Cooling 8 February 12, 2008 07:24 PM