Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2012, 01:33 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default Hypothetical Shared loop, 1 Rad?

Ok, so here's the deal... I'm currently in the middle of installing SugarJ's old X58 Classified w/ a motherboard chipset block.....

I'm using this primochill res, which allows for two loops to be run off of one pump.......



From the next pic, you can see how close the chipset fittings are to the cpu block which presents a bit of a problem trying to get a clean loop in series.....



I wanted to go res - Rad - CPU - chipset - res, but the run from the cpu - chipset would be awfully short and thus inclined to kinking and/or would also make pulling the loop out for maintainance damn near impossible.

With that in mind, I was going to drop a PA120 into the lower part of the case forward of the PSU, and while that's a possibility, it would be an awfully tight fit for the PSU cables (PSUs are getting longer... maybe we need to adjust our large sized cases to accomodate them.... ;) ), and I've already been through making this case feel smaller than it is, and would rather not go back to that. :) I could hang it off of the the back if I had to, but I'd rather not if I don't absolutely have to.

So.... here's my theoretical solution for folks to comment on.....

Supposedly rad placement in a loop doesn't make much difference in temps as the whole loop won't differ by much more than a degree or so once it gets flowing... with that in mind, wouldn't the water in the res work the same way?

What I'm thinking is to run two loops........
  1. Res-Rad-CPU-Res will be the first, and I'll be putting the rad in immediately after the res to ensure that the res water temp is cooled prior to supplying it to the CPU
  2. (And this is the part I'll want comment on.... ';) ) Res - chipset - Res
What... no rad on the second loop????? Nope, that's what I'm wondering... since both loops will be sharing the same res, I'm hoping that the res water temp will be cooled sufficiently by the rad in the CPU loop to keep the chipset cool enough.

What do you think?




__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2012, 01:55 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

As long as the loops share the same reservoir, I can't see why it wouldn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2012, 01:56 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

Interesting. Easy to set up, and worth the try? Run at stock, check CPU and chipset temps while idle, then run Prime?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2012, 02:42 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
As long as the loops share the same reservoir, I can't see why it wouldn't work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Interesting. Easy to set up, and worth the try? Run at stock, check CPU and chipset temps while idle, then run Prime?
Yeah, I can't think of any reason why it wouldn't work either, just putting it out there on the off chance that somebody here will pipe in and say... hell no... tried it and it didn't work at all!!! :)

As far as "Easy to set up" goes... it's easy enough, but I don't have a baseline for what decent chipset temps would be.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2012, 02:49 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

That board ran a 4.1 OC fine with the stock NB/SB heatsinks, the only reason I put the mobo block on was for the bling.

As long as you have some flow through the block, you shouldn't have to worry about overheating the MOSFETs.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2012, 03:19 PM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 448

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I wanted to go res - Rad - CPU - chipset - res, but the run from the cpu - chipset would be awfully short and thus inclined to kinking and/or would also make pulling the loop out for maintainance damn near impossible.
90' fittings and some spacers = clean fix.

love your theory btw. GL.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2012, 03:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

Well... scratch that. It was a nice idea while it lasted, but the rad won't clear the upper chipset block fitting, and I'm not dropping back to single standard depth fans to get it to fit.... guess I'll pull the board back out and install the standard chipset cooling on it.... :(

edit: Well... that was a good 5+ hrs wasted...... ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; April 12, 2012 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Loop or Dual Loop? Pump enough for single? MattC Water Cooling 5 May 31, 2011 07:19 PM
Another loop order, single/dual loop thread... turtletrax Water Cooling 8 July 28, 2010 08:40 PM
Vista shared video memory tzetsin RAM 6 February 18, 2008 01:13 AM
how to deleted the "shared folder" create by live messenger ebdoradz Off Topic 1 January 7, 2008 11:57 AM
TrustedReviews on 1TB Maxtor Shared Storage II Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 January 4, 2007 05:35 PM