Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 11:24 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default Testing water pumps?

Hey I just recieved my Swiftech MCP655 Pumps today and would like to test them to make sure they run, if I were to plug them into my PSU and turn it on and off quickly would it hurt the motor? I'm assuming yes but some input would help... I don't have any of my other parts yet thats why i'm asking.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 11:27 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,468

My System Specs

Default

Yes you will damage the pump. They aren't designed to be run dry and should only be run with a positive supply of water. (The 655's especially make an awful grinding noise when they run dry...... ;) )
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 11:46 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

Yes it will damage it. You can always fill up a large bowl or tub of water to test it out, just make sure that intake stays submerged or you have a hose going into the water or something.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 01:21 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default



as pictured turn image counter-clockwise, this will have the inlet facing the ceiling

keep that position and plug the outlet that facing left wall

fill the inlet till pump cavitiy is full

now you can power the pump with keeping the pump outlet plugged and inlet full of water

if run the pump dry will cause rotor vibrate when get your loop finished

oh just run pump only VIA of jumping PSU the Green to black

Last edited by KaptCrunch; April 10, 2012 at 01:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 05:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like a plan, ps the box shows the inlet is the horizontal barb fitting and outlet is the vertical fitting!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 02:38 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 446

My System Specs

Default

would wait till you get your loop done and then fill using the jumper method KC posted till your loop is filled and tested.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 03:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nasrott View Post
would wait till you get your loop done and then fill using the jumper method KC posted till your loop is filled and tested.
Yes sounds ideal but being from Alberta, Canada I have to wait for Canadian shipping... so if I do have an RMA it'd be better to do it while I'm in the building phase versus almost being finished.

Thanks for the advice!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 04:45 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Go to the local hardware store, buy $3 worth of clear plastic tubing, then make a small loop from inlet to outlet, that way you see water pumping, don't kill it, and you will need the tubing eventually anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 04:57 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 446

My System Specs

Default

If that's the case, get a shallow bucket of water and and drop everything into the bucket below the nut, so intake and outlet are submerged obviously the motor is not and power your pump... even could just submerge the intake and point outlet back into the bucket....
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2012, 04:26 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nasrott View Post
If that's the case, get a shallow bucket of water and and drop everything into the bucket below the nut, so intake and outlet are submerged obviously the motor is not and power your pump... even could just submerge the intake and point outlet back into the bucket....

not a good thing to do for the cermic ball isn't touching water with your method
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reservoirs/Pumps: Need a little bit of help... JORD4N Water Cooling 3 March 10, 2011 09:38 PM
Anybody tried Danger Den pumps? Dazmode Water Cooling 21 July 12, 2009 03:50 PM
[FS] Rads, pumps, blocks, vid cards, water cooling extravaganza ect. Sniper Buy/Sell & Trade 186 May 1, 2009 08:17 PM
2 pumps ? Wasza Water Cooling 10 December 13, 2007 10:17 AM