Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 9, 2012, 10:09 AM
Rookie
F@H

Cool General Water Cooling Questions

Hey y'all, I'm very interested in taking the plunge into water cooling. I'm new to posting but i've been lurking around for a couple of months. There are just a few things that I'm not 100% sure about for planning on what things I should buy.

Within the next week or so I'm planning on building a computer around the FX-8120. Since it's my first build (for myself that is) I was thinking of just sticking to a simple CPU loop which could be upgraded with a GPU in the near future. I've been able to snag a deal on a Apogee XT and a MCP655 pump and not sure about the remaining components.

My questions:

1) With regards to radiators, how would a restricted radiator hinder the performance? I'm looking at the XSPC RX360 and the Swiftech MCR320-QPK which have similar performance at low rpm but have much different flow rates (MCR320 being more restrictive than the RX360 relative to Bundymania's 360 rad review). The XT seems to be a restrictive block and I'm just worried that I wouldn't have enough flow going through my loop if I added a GPU block.

2) Do coloured liquids leave "guck" within the loop? I think it was in one of Linus's videos where he said that he finds that coloured liquids leave residue within blocks and what not. Is this true? Would I be better off buying coloured tubing instead and using distilled water? I was looking at clear primochill and ek blood red liquid. Is the primochill uv red a darker or lighter red?

3) For loop maintenance, is it just as simple as replacing the liquid every 6 months or should I remove the loop and flush the system? or a combination of the 2?

Thanks in advance,
Monkeyyy
Old April 9, 2012, 10:17 AM
Allstar
F@H

My System Specs