Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 03:11 PM
rfglass's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Elgin Grey/Bruce
Posts: 161

My System Specs

Default H100 upright

I have an H100 and want to install it in my case like in the picture,but was wondering about the inlet /outlet on top.If there is any air in the system will the pump be sucking air?Is there any air in a H100?The pic is off the net,not my rig.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 03:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Bad idea for long term use. Some units aren't fully bled out when they leave the factory and others develop bubbles over long periods of time. (months/years)

But since the Corsair units come with 5 year warranties it might not really matter if you don't mind having to RMA every 1-3 years.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 03:26 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I have owned the h100 and an H50 back in the day and found that there was still a little bit of air in the system, so by having the pump at the highest point it would make gurglng noises indicating to me that it was sucking air. It would be most ideal to have the pump mounted on the top of the case where those 2 120mm fans are.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 03:29 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

That is how I have my h100 mounted. Maybe that is why it is much more audible then my h60 was. The air bubble noise has for the better part gone away over time like they suggested on the corsair forums.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 03:34 PM
rfglass's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Elgin Grey/Bruce
Posts: 161

My System Specs

Default

yeah was wondering about that,I have same case as in the pic (Corsair 300r) and does not leave any room for a push pull setup,and I am also trying to set things up for as little dust into the case as possible.. added a pic to show you what I mean.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 03:42 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabz0r545 View Post
That is how I have my h100 mounted. Maybe that is why it is much more audible then my h60 was. The air bubble noise has for the better part gone away over time like they suggested on the corsair forums.

Not good to have it this way you are making that pump work way harder than it should.

Pump should ALWAYS be below inlet/outlet of radiator
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 03:51 PM
rfglass's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Elgin Grey/Bruce
Posts: 161

My System Specs

Default

Thanx guys for the info,Guess I gonna have to rethink this idea and figure out some modification to get a push/pull on top of the rig.I like modding so it will be fun.if I mess it up I'll just have to buy the larger version of the case.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 04:01 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Not good to have it this way you are making that pump work way harder than it should.

Pump should ALWAYS be below inlet/outlet of radiator
I did not know this. Good thing I will be switching to custom loop very soon. Thanks for the heads up though now I know. :)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 04:07 PM
rfglass's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Elgin Grey/Bruce
Posts: 161

My System Specs

Default

so I assume that the rigs I have seen with bottom mounted rads are custom w/c with reservoir's then?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2012, 04:09 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rfglass View Post
so I assume that the rigs I have seen with bottom mounted rads are custom w/c with reservoir's then?
It custom loops you have a pump, reservoir, and radiator all seperate.

Units like the H100 have the pump and reservoir built in.

So by using a custom loop you have more freedom in how things can run but even still the pump should always be at the lowest point of the loop.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Corsair H100 bombdigiti Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 19, 2012 11:27 AM
H100 trayton Water Cooling 19 March 5, 2012 11:55 AM
H100 Temps Flemminr Water Cooling 8 February 19, 2012 01:48 PM
H80 or H100 Reviews? PerryC Water Cooling 40 August 21, 2011 07:57 AM