Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2012, 06:25 PM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default New loop suggestions

Hi all,

longtime lurker, first time poster. I'm looking for input on the next phase in my build, thanks in advance!

Current hardware consists of 800D with two independent loops:

XSPC Dual 5.25" Bay Reservoir for TWO Laing DDC
P67-UD7
16gb Gskill RAM
80gb Intel SSD
1tb 7200rpm HDD
750gb 7200rpm HDD
Xonar HDAV1.3 HDMI soundcard
Lite-On HD-DVD/Blu-Ray optical
Cooler Master Silent Pro M1000 power supply
mostly Scythe Gentle Typhoons for fans

Loop 1:
2600k
Swiftech CPU block
HEATKILLER GA-P67/Z68 UD7 mobo block set
MCP355
120mm Swiftech rad
140mm Magicool rad
5/8" tubing/fittings

Loop 2:
2 GTX 480 with Koolance blocks
Swiftech 3*120mm rad
MCP355
1/2" tubing/fittings

Pending installation:
third GTX 480 with koolance block
Koolance Liquid Cooled 1300W/1700W ATX V2.2 24PIN SLI Ready Modular Active PFC Power Supply
Cooler Master Cosmos II... maybe

Now what I am thinking of doing is getting a newSwiftech MCR-X20 Drive REV3 Series 3X120MM rad/res combo, Apogee HD CPU block and MCP35x. Will the three inlets on the rad/res allow one pump to generate enough flow, or should I stick with two separate loops?

Right now under load, the GPU's top out at 60 Celcius, but the CPU loop doesn't really heat up at all. I'd rather not have to go with higher RPM fans- the quieter, the better for me.

Can't link to any pics until I get my post count up, I'll post later.

Last edited by WhippWhapp; March 25, 2012 at 06:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2012, 06:31 PM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2012, 01:04 AM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 473

My System Specs

Default

Personally id do one loop to clean up the tubing. Too much of a hassle to split the loop apart. Just have the pumps in serial for redundancy and added flow/pressure for your loop since your a mobo block.

Im just curious, why install a liquid cooled PS?

If thats a pic of your rig - your PS is more than capable to run your cards.
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2012, 07:28 AM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
Personally id do one loop to clean up the tubing. Too much of a hassle to split the loop apart. Just have the pumps in serial for redundancy and added flow/pressure for your loop since your a mobo block.

Im just curious, why install a liquid cooled PS?

If thats a pic of your rig - your PS is more than capable to run your cards.
Got it for $100 on Kijiji, brand new, still in shrink wrap.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2012, 05:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,269

My System Specs

Default

When I run my 360 rad off the top the tube returning to the pump goes across the top of the mobo so its nearly out of sight. I used a 90* off the rear where yours is a straight. I had to cut one corner of the fan off with a hack saw to make it fit nice but it cleans up a bit of tubing. I'm of the opinion that less is more too. I reckon you could just run the loop through the Vreg's 1st then the cpu? You could still use both rads in a loop like that i suppose. I kinda thought a guy would run the water through the coolest stuff 1st and then the hottest?

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ak-testing.jpg
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2012, 11:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Holly spaghetti batman! I agree. Go with one loop. It will save you on parts and most importantly give you space inside. 2 pumps in serial for redundancy if you want but even then...most boards have an automatic shutoff safety temp threshold you can put in the bios.

If you add a third GPU block, your radiator surface area might be a bit tight if you want to keep your rig silent though. GTX 480s are hot cards so if you add another you'll have to add some radiator if you want silence and decent temps.

The other option is to sell your GPUs and get a newer one or 2 :)

Last edited by coldcase; March 26, 2012 at 11:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2012, 07:27 PM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default



Ordered wrong size white Primochill tubing and didn't want to wait for replacement to ship, heard someone say "necessity is the mother of invention" before, so I made due with what was kicking around.

Turned 360 rad around, put pumps in series, and made everything one loop. Under 100% load, the CPU and TRI 480's all top out at 58 Celcius now, two 480's alone on the 360 used to hit 60, so I'm happy.

Still coming, white cable kit for the AX1200, white Primochill, and I am thinking all Arctic Cooling ARCTIC F12 PWM 120mm's plus a better 120mm rad for the rear.
__________________
I rub and whack and choke and stroke!

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2012, 10:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 49

My System Specs

Default

So much cleaner now!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2012, 06:00 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sioux Lookout, ON
Posts: 52

My System Specs

Default

Looking Good :)
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Intel i7 3930k | Crucial 4x4Gb | OCZ Vertex 3 MaxIOPS 240GB | WD Velociraptor 1TB | Nvidia 680GTX SLI | Win8 Pro 64 | EK Supremecy | 2 x Alphacool XT45 360 | 2x EK - FC680 | 2x Liang DDC 3.25 | Swiftech Malestorm Res | Case Labs M8 |
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2012, 06:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,269

My System Specs

Default

thousand times better dude great job!
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Loop or Dual Loop? Pump enough for single? MattC Water Cooling 5 May 31, 2011 07:19 PM
Another loop order, single/dual loop thread... turtletrax Water Cooling 8 July 28, 2010 08:40 PM
Will 1 loop be enough? Musabi Water Cooling 14 March 21, 2010 09:33 AM
Re-doing loop, suggestions? llama_egg Water Cooling 8 November 29, 2009 09:40 AM
Fan loop SpateD Water Cooling 6 January 21, 2008 06:30 PM