Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2012, 11:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Exclamation motherboard cooling!

Hello, I just wanted to ask if I could temporarily use a water-cooled board without water-cooling. Does it work? I'm currently buying parts for a new PC an this is really bothering me since this board looks so good and I don't have that much money left for water-cooling. So what are your opinions about this?


It looks freaking good!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2012, 11:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Caseking.de Mainboards King Mod Mainboards Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD7 Watercooled with EK-FB GA 990FXA - AC. EN

forgot the link...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2012, 01:07 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Just so that I am clear, you mean to temporarily run the board with that VRM waterblock and no water running through the block? I'd say that would probably be a bad idea, You wouldn't be able to cool the components under the block very well and could risk damaging them. You might be ok if you kust wanted to get nto bios or something, but to use the system with no water...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2012, 11:00 PM
Astaroth's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 163

My System Specs

Default

Make a temporary ghetto loop with one of these 5.25 Bay Reservoir with built in Pump 0.9Gal/m 5.25 Bay Reservoir with built in Pump 0.9Gal/m [DC200] - $49.99 : DazMode, The Best Canadian PC Watercooling and Modding Store!
get some cheap plastic barbs, hw store tubing, clamps. Otherwise forget it.

EDIT: herpa derp, forgot about the radiator. Scrap that idea entirely. Wait until you can get a very basic budget loop together to provide adequate cooling. You might be able to remove the waterblock and get away with some mofset heatsink (Thermalright ones come to mind).

In any event, do things properly and don't don't risk your hardware.

Last edited by Astaroth; March 22, 2012 at 11:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 04:26 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,924
Default

whats wrong with stock heatsink ? just re-tim it and use till you get all your parts

yes using MB without HS will cook the chip correct Astaroth smart idea if trashed old HS
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] S775 Motherboard and I7 920/930 cpu + x58 motherboard Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 6 May 22, 2010 10:23 PM
Arctic Cooling Accelero TWIN TURBO Pro Cooling for GPUs FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 November 16, 2009 12:51 PM
i7 rig needs cooling kaufman37 Water Cooling 9 October 19, 2009 09:10 PM
Passive cooling/silent cooling Cowboy Air Cooling 9 September 17, 2009 11:38 AM
HAF cooling crazyhorsejohnny Air Cooling 31 March 28, 2009 09:17 PM