Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2012, 05:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default loop set up.

Okay here is my dilemma.

What would be the best way to run my loop/loops in my PC (IYO). My first thought was to run two individual loops. One for the CPU and one for the GPU's, but as I am just test fitting everything in, if might look better and have better cpu cooling, if I run it as one loop

Here is why I came to that conclusion. I have a Cosmos 1000 case slightly modified. with one RX240 with push-pull fan configuration at the bottom(which I was going to use as my GPU's cooling if I did individual loops) the other RX240 is in the top with just Pull configuration(not enough room for push pull) this one was going to be for the CPU. (seeing how my CPU only has pull I can see my temps not being really great). What do you guys/girls think

MY gear
2x RX240
Res, Pump combo is a koolance RP-401x2 with two MCP355
Fans are gentle typhoons 6 of them.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2012, 05:19 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

Pump,rad(pushpull),CPU,Rad,GPU,Res,Pump
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2012, 05:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

that will be too messy.

if its one loop it will be: Pump/Res to rad(only pull) to cpu, to gpus to rad(push pull) back to res/pump.
or 2 separate loops
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2012, 06:15 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,070

My System Specs

Default

A single loop is generally the way to go. You'll usually get better flow and better temps.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2012, 07:55 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaydu View Post
that will be too messy.

if its one loop it will be: Pump/Res to rad(only pull) to cpu, to gpus to rad(push pull) back to res/pump.
or 2 separate loops
Doing it this way I gained 4'C.
I tryed both ways And mine was Better.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2012, 08:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

I cant see how your order matters. Your loop can only dissipate so much heat. So no matter what order you do your loop the temp should be the same once the machine is on for a long period of time.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2012, 08:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the help guys. I will be going single loop.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2012, 12:28 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaydu View Post
I cant see how your order matters. Your loop can only dissipate so much heat. So no matter what order you do your loop the temp should be the same once the machine is on for a long period of time.
True, effectively at steady state, for your proposed config and Chromey's config the water entering the res/pump will be at the same temperature.

The difference between the two setups is the temperature of the water along the loop.

Putting the GPU directly after the CPU feeds warm water into the GPU. Putting a rad in between lets you put cooler water into the GPU and that's how Chromey gets lower temps.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2012, 08:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xilocient View Post
True, effectively at steady state, for your proposed config and Chromey's config the water entering the res/pump will be at the same temperature.

The difference between the two setups is the temperature of the water along the loop.

Putting the GPU directly after the CPU feeds warm water into the GPU. Putting a rad in between lets you put cooler water into the GPU and that's how Chromey gets lower temps.
We are talking about a ~1 c difference here at most. Temps in a closed loop is pretty constant all over.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2012, 07:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xilocient View Post
Putting the GPU directly after the CPU feeds warm water into the GPU. Putting a rad in between lets you put cooler water into the GPU and that's how Chromey gets lower temps.
the coolant moves too fast to pick up enough heat to be concerned about loop order. the loop heats up over repeated cycles, not from a single pass through water blocks. yes, there are temperature differences, but as coldcase said, there is about 1~2 degree difference AT MOST. i wouldn't be too concerned about loop order and focus on the aesthetics of the loop
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New WC Loop...something's not right Sleal Water Cooling 11 December 19, 2011 10:56 PM
Single Loop or Dual Loop? Pump enough for single? MattC Water Cooling 5 May 31, 2011 08:19 PM
Do I have everything I need for WC loop? ADay2Long Water Cooling 15 August 6, 2010 10:34 PM
Another loop order, single/dual loop thread... turtletrax Water Cooling 8 July 28, 2010 09:40 PM
Loop help Lpfan4ever Water Cooling 12 September 22, 2009 07:22 PM