Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2012, 07:18 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

My personal favourite radiators - the SR1's. Rolling three 480mm's myself ;) It's not dirty/ dusty. It's from the cardboard they pack them in. All three of mine looked like that - they just need a quick wipe. Only thing I would change is the CPU block. You got all these solid beautiful pieces, then a plastic CPU block...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2012, 12:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default

Finally done, pictures will be posted soon. It turned out really well and i even got some nice improvements which i wasnt expecting.

It was a toss up between the koolance 370 vs the RayStorm... Ray storm won, I might grab the metal top for it at some point but it was a hard decision when the ray storm was half the cost.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2012, 03:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default

Ok, and now some pictures... Everything worked out pertty good. Few order mistakes on wires (forgot 4700 GTXs are dual 6 pin and not 6+8) forgot the mb is 8 pin atx, and my flow meter wire should be sleeved.

Name:  IMG_3618web.jpg
Views: 138
Size:  105.7 KB

Name:  IMG_3619Web.jpg
Views: 141
Size:  129.3 KB

Name:  IMG_3620Web.jpg
Views: 134
Size:  127.4 KB

Name:  IMG_3622web.jpg
Views: 146
Size:  121.8 KB

The heart of the system... 3 MCP35X

Name:  IMG_3610web.jpg
Views: 143
Size:  182.7 KB

Turned out very nice, I think i gained about 2C-4C over my last setup and its much quieter now since i can run the 3 mcp35x at only 2000 rpm to get 1.1 GPM.

My max GPM went from 1.4->2.4 by adding another pump and changing out the Apogee XT rev2
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2012, 04:19 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

I would have done 3/8 x 5/8 over those 1/2" barbs instead of worm clamps =) Looks good though
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2012, 04:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default

I really tossed around ideas for clamps, i almost went compression, monsoon compression, a different kind of clamp and in the end i always ended up back at the wire clamps, i actually like the way they look.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2012, 05:26 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Hey, and that is all that matters! If you like YOUR OWN computer - you're doing it right.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 06:00 PM
BobbyLou's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

only rads I've seen rival the sr1 quality is the xtx from ek

looks really good by the way, glad to see you chose what YOU like you will be happier that way in the long run.

Last edited by BobbyLou; March 5, 2012 at 06:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 07:32 PM
Astaroth's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 163

My System Specs

Default

Given the position of your pumps and reservoir, you have to tilt your case to get the pumps to prime correct?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 10:19 PM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

Out of curiosity, why did you get 3 pumps? One 35x would have done the job, and even 2 is a little much unless you're looking for redundancy.

Also, you're reservoir isn't even really feeding your pumps from the looks of it.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 10:41 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keywork View Post
Out of curiosity, why did you get 3 pumps? One 35x would have done the job, and even 2 is a little much unless you're looking for redundancy.

Also, you're reservoir isn't even really feeding your pumps from the looks of it.
ZeroFlux is probably using a res feed tube which allows the inlet to be at the top of the res. Kinda looks like the one in this pic:


Source:http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...tml#post597111
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R/C Toys omgwtf Off Topic 6 February 11, 2012 12:42 PM
New Toys lechumbl Off Topic 6 November 8, 2011 08:56 PM
Buying parts tomorrow for SB tomorrow! tl9015 New Builds 2 January 16, 2011 03:05 AM
New toys... cul8erppl Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 3 September 4, 2010 06:38 PM
One of my new toys mklym Mobile Computing 5 January 16, 2009 09:41 PM