Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 04:07 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Magic, it should be simple to fill. Just fill the rad until it is full, then turn the power on the pump for only a second or 2. then fill up more water, and repeat. Then, eventually there will be a steady flow of fluid, and you should be able to leave the pump on for a few hours. The bubbles will take a while to get out, but just grab a beer or somehting! Then, when it looks good, top the rad up, close it off, and you should be good to go. Really, it took me less than a few minutes getting mine full.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 04:21 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Ill try that! to be honest i hadnt used the pump- just filled the loop outside the system to get a "feel" for it-obviously filled the reservoir too fast.and should have used the pump!!!
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 04:23 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Oh, beware...don't fill it too much. Haha, last time I did mine, when turning the pump on and off it got rid of some bubles, and also splashed a ton of fluid around. I had it filled up a little too much I think hehe. Also, when it is done, we want to see pics!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 11:16 PM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Not meaning to steal the thread but, you leak-test with the blocks all attached? isn't that a wee bit bad? or will these liquids dry off nice and clean if some does leak while the components are powered off?

I'm really a bit sketchy on what to do with the system once all my parts are inside.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 11:43 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Yes I leak test with a fully put together system. If it leaks, I clean it off best I can with papertowell, then don't fire the thing up for a few hours at least. I still have not had leaks though, as 7/16" ID tubing on 1/2" barbs are Extremely tight!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2008, 12:41 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

You can also put some paper towels around the connections. Just check if the the paper towels are wet, and if they are obviously you have a leak there. Also, if it does leak, you will probably have noticed before any components got wet so cleaning up will just be a matter of throwing out the paper towels. Though if any paper towel gets into a fan, it'll scare the crap out of you from the noise, so keep the paper towel clear of fans and your pants will be clear of poop.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2008, 07:01 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

I always leak test while the blocks are installed on the board. I had a leak once, on my very first built. Paper towels did the trick, while the PSU was jumped.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2008, 07:23 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Oh, beware...don't fill it too much. Haha, last time I did mine, when turning the pump on and off it got rid of some bubles, and also splashed a ton of fluid around. I had it filled up a little too much I think hehe. Also, when it is done, we want to see pics!
Yes i will take some pictures of my humble system-before and after-hopefully the after shows the system working. The tips here have been very useful. Ive trawled the web watched a few vids on youtube but first-hand accounts really help to "bridge the gap"---especially with the "filling part" and dumb questions on powering the pump
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2008, 07:54 AM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Can't wait to see, I need ideas how to do my setup.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2008, 08:14 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

yes chuckle i know what you mean. I'll try and write some noob impressions--one thing about the apogee GT block-dont like the plastic barbs, or the mounting screw setup--both are a little cheap....especially when you compare with metal barbs or thermarights ultra extreme mounts. That said the block was great value is very well constructed and has lots of copper and i can always buy more barbs!!
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes