Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2012, 04:12 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default Need to update my Watercooling

So i've got a no name Rad, banged up a tad some of the fins are bent etc


What i got

Banged up no-name Rad 240
EK Supreme LT Nickel / Plexi
No-Name Pump
Swiftek Square Res
Tygon 3/8" ID Tubing
Thermaltake Coolant

What i want

XSPC RX240, 63mm Thick compared to 45mm no name one i've got
Performance Dual 120mm Radiator XSPC RX240 Performance Dual 120mm Radiator XSPC RX240 [RX240] - $73.99 : DazMode, The Best Canadian PC Watercooling and Modding Store!


So plans have changed.. i will be making a Dual loop setup for my 5970 alone and Mosfet / CPU on the other


EK Spin Bay Black
Swiftech MCP355 Pumps
XSPC DDC Plexi Performance Top
XSPC Performance 65mm Dual 120 Radiator
16ft of TFC 3/8" ID Red Tube
12x Straight Compression Fitting
3x 45 Degres Compression Fitting
4x Barb Clamps
Dazmode Protector
Indigo Xtreme™ Thermal pad LGA 1155

All from our DazMode store

480$ Shipped / Taxes


Will be getting a EK WB for my 5970 and also a EK Plexi Mosfet from another member here

any other recommendation ?

its just a question but i've got a DDC pump with Acetal top that i've planned on my build after the video Daz made and thinking of using the bay res + making a hole in my 5.25 bottem bay and putting the tube threw it and mount my pump underneath the 5.25 for less clutter

This is a layout on paint i've made to show what i what to do

__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?

Last edited by r0k0; February 17, 2012 at 12:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 12:10 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Updated
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 12:33 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

Hmm, Personally I don't see many benefits to having dual loops especially for the massive increase in cost. Did you consider doing a single loop with single pump?

Also depending on the fans you're using the EX series from XSPC has been shown performing slightly better than the RX at higher fan speeds and I believe the EX is cheaper. If you're using slow fans then the RX is one of the best on the market.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 12:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jibz View Post
Hmm, Personally I don't see many benefits to having dual loops especially for the massive increase in cost. Did you consider doing a single loop with single pump?

Also depending on the fans you're using the EX series from XSPC has been shown performing slightly better than the RX at higher fan speeds and I believe the EX is cheaper. If you're using slow fans then the RX is one of the best on the market.
I agree. Why are you doing 2 loops when one loop will be just fine. If you watercool your CPU + your GPU you need a 360 rad surface or equivalent. 240 + 120 etc...That is if you want something that doesn't make a lot of noise. Anyway. Been watercooling for 12 years and I do single loop. Save yourself the trouble and the cash.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 01:03 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

been told by lots of ppl that my 5970 would heat up the water too much on a single loop.. so i'd rather run a dual loop so that my GPU is alone so i can maximise my overclock on it

Once watercooled.. i'll be heading for the 950Mhz Core and 1350Mhz Memory mark from 800Core / 1100Mem with fans at 60%

Also i know its not good.. but while gaming my i5 runs at 60-65degres but while using Intel Burn test / Prime95 goes up to 80degres and that's also why i want a dual loop

Video lop is uploading atm
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 08:04 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 164
Default

Whomever is telling you that is someone you should probably stop taking advice from.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 08:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 28

My System Specs

Default

+1

I suggest single loop with two pumps (in serie) for redundancy and add radiators to get to your targetted delta T (water T- ambient T = delta T).
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 10:19 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

the one who gave me the advice is the one who had a 5970 watercooled and said that he had to switch to a 1 loop because the 5970 was heating up the system too much because of the heat they generate
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 11:08 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

O_o

I have 3 gtx 570 at 1.1v heavily overclocked in my single loop and the delta before and after the cards is negligible.

Maybe you're friend didn't have enough air flow/pressure to get air through his rad?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 11:38 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,580
Default

I like to use a single loop, just because it is cleaner and easier to do. I personally would use two pumps (for redundancy. If one dies, you have the other one going still.) Also, just make sure you have enough radiator (with good fans)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] *UPDATE WEEKLY* ~ Chere's Computer Parts Sale ~ *UPDATE WEEKLY* Chere Buy/Sell & Trade 41 October 15, 2011 07:51 PM
to update ff or not to update, zat is ze question... _dangtx_ Off Topic 8 February 23, 2010 12:07 AM
WaterKegIII Extreme external Watercooling unit, Watercooling stuff Apollo4g Buy/Sell & Trade 9 June 9, 2008 09:49 PM
Lil' update... 3.0charlie Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 September 18, 2007 05:46 PM
oc update Jim CPU's and Motherboards 11 July 23, 2007 11:08 PM