Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 04:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 23
Default Swiftech MCP655 on 3/8 id tubing

Hey Linus,
i was wondering if 3/8 id tubing will fit on Swiftech MCP655
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 04:40 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

"MOST" water blocks have the same holes G1/4" if im not mistaken. You just get fittings to go from that to whatever tube you work.

Short answer is Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 05:08 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Birk View Post
"MOST" water blocks have the same holes G1/4" if im not mistaken. You just get fittings to go from that to whatever tube you work.

Short answer is Yes.
In this case you're unfortunately mistaken. The MCP655 has fixed 1/2" barbs which cannot be changed out without purchasing an aftermarket add-on.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 05:25 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,797

My System Specs

Default

1. Boil a pot or kettle w/ water.
2. Fill a cup w/ the water.
3. Soak the end of the 3/8" tubing in the hot water for about a minute. Shake off excess water.
4. Place 3/8" tubing over the fixed 1/2" barb on the MCP655.

It is rather easy to do as long as the water is hot enough.

I've even been able to fit 3/8" tubing over 5/8" fittings (Eheim pump) w/ this method.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 05:40 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
1. Boil a pot or kettle w/ water.
2. Fill a cup w/ the water.
3. Soak the end of the 3/8" tubing in the hot water for about a minute. Shake off excess water.
4. Place 3/8" tubing over the fixed 1/2" barb on the MCP655.

It is rather easy to do as long as the water is hot enough.

I've even been able to fit 3/8" tubing over 5/8" fittings (Eheim pump) w/ this method.

Sounds like a pain to get off later on if you need to change out tubing or pump.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 05:55 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
In this case you're unfortunately mistaken. The MCP655 has fixed 1/2" barbs which cannot be changed out without purchasing an aftermarket add-on.

oh damn haha. I do have the right idea though don't I? I've been reading up quite a bit on water cooling again before i invest in a loop for my new system.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 06:22 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,797

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent_Avenger View Post
Sounds like a pain to get off later on if you need to change out tubing or pump.
I find tubing hard to get off barbs no matter if the tubing was stretched or not.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 06:33 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Birk View Post
oh damn haha. I do have the right idea though don't I? I've been reading up quite a bit on water cooling again before i invest in a loop for my new system.
Yeah, in many cases the barbs are easy enough to switch out, but in the case of stock Swiftech pumps that doesn't work (their other main pump is a 3/8" fixed barb... ;) ). The DD pump I've got allows for standard barbs to be used which comes in handy if you're looking to use something with an angle.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 07:12 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,849
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson
The DD pump I've got allows for standard barbs to be used which comes in handy if you're looking to use something with an angle.
note: do not use a 90 on inlet of any pump on outlet is ok


lowfat is correct but use good hose
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2012, 11:34 PM
Zer0's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

My suggestion is to get an aftermarket top so you can screw in the correct sized barb or compression fitting.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Swiftech (MCP655)(FOUND) Chromey Buy/Sell & Trade 3 September 18, 2010 12:34 PM
[WTB] Swiftech MCP655 Fudd Rucker Buy/Sell & Trade 8 October 19, 2009 08:02 PM
[WTB] Swiftech MCP655 pump, Dtek Fusion 2, Noctua p12 netforce Buy/Sell & Trade 3 January 13, 2009 06:16 PM
WTB: Swiftech MCP655 miggs78 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 October 7, 2008 02:39 PM
swiftech mcp655 wiring Corpus Masochist Water Cooling 15 September 9, 2007 09:30 PM