Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 05:28 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default NEW GPU Water Block questions with new pix on page 2 :P

Is it safe to use just 1 rad on my system?

System
AMD FX8150 EK Block on it
EK Dual 120mm rad with 4 Noctua Fans on it
EK Multi inlet outlet Reservoir
Now for the odd part of the setup
6970 CUII with Stock cooler fans Removed and 2 RASA GPU blocks where the fans were.

Should I get another Rad for between the CPU and GPU?

I am using a Chaser Thermaltake case

Oh and Swiftech MCP350 Pump.

I will get pix once I decide to get another rad or not haha


Okay scratch above idea now I just want to get a block on the GPU get shiny Vram heat sinks all over it move my big 240mm ran to right on top the GPU and let er fly.

Issue is I dont trust the work I do with watercooling(So new to using water it scares me)

So this weekend will be the maiden voyage as I plan to get it finished tomorrow night and them unhook my laptop from my desk and bring back my AMD gaming tower.

Any help or advice is really appreciated :)

Last edited by Soullessone21; January 5, 2012 at 11:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 05:37 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,071

My System Specs

Default

So are you running two videocards? If so then no. It won't be fine.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 05:48 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

just one 6970 they have stock 2 fans I removed the 2 fans and put water blocks in their place cuz I was bored and got the waterblocks for Xmas
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 05:53 PM
NI3 NI3 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 246
Default

I'm a little confused, is it one GPU with two blocks, or two GPUs, two blocks?

Normally it is suggested 120mm/component. I would suggest another 120, or even a 240 if you are cooling 2 gpus.

Edit: I see your post

I would think it is OK, in that case.

Let us know what tempos are sounds like a crazy setup
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 06:14 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
just one 6970 they have stock 2 fans I removed the 2 fans and put water blocks in their place cuz I was bored and got the waterblocks for Xmas
set-up them in parelle if blocks are same or a full cover WB in series

rez>pump>cpu> -<gpu's>-or straight for full cover>rad

note still need air flow for ram vrm to cool if not full cover not used
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 09:41 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

You can have 2 blocks on one card?... :O I guess it would be okay since the heat of those two blocks are shared from the same chip. Shouldn't hurt to test out the temps and upgrade the rad if you need to in the future. I'd just get a full cover block for your card if there is though. Then: CPU + GPU on a dual rad is perfectly fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 10:17 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Whos ready for pix of my card haha??

I just tor it all a apart and am now thinking bolt it onto the fins or... Dermal down the fins and fit the blocks in really tight to the copper tubes?

This is more for fun then anything as I have 2 7970's on order and I plan to use this card in my AMD FX system while the 7970's go with my 3960x system.

So what next? do you think it will work bolted to the fins of the stock cooler or is it going to work much better sanded down and pushed onto the copper tubes?







Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 10:23 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Burlington, On
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

I don't know but to me that looks a little sketchy.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 10:24 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

they are not attached yet getting a new grinder tomorrow and fitting the water blocks down into the fins
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 10:29 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Burlington, On
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

I'll admit that I'm not great at this stuff but it just doesn't seem like its a good idea, Somebody will correct me if I'm incorrect but i feel this setup would be lacking in physical contact with the fins to be very effective? Would this give better or worse heat transfer then the fans?

Interesting idea and has my mind working :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to fix Click of Death, and water cool your HDD! Jelah Guides & How-to's 6 July 28, 2010 05:58 PM
First water setup for MM88 martin_metal_88 Water Cooling 93 June 15, 2010 06:32 PM
Optimal water setup Fudd Rucker Water Cooling 8 October 15, 2009 11:26 AM
So, can you water cool a psu? Z Overlord Water Cooling 12 August 30, 2009 03:28 AM
Nub Water Cooling setup? thatguy Water Cooling 11 May 23, 2008 05:15 PM