Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 01:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10

My System Specs

Smile What Size Hose Clamps for 1/2"ID 3/4"OD Tube with 1/8" wall

Hey everyone I'm just about ready to do water cooling and was wondering what size hose clamps I should get for my tube size?

I already have some spring clamps but I'm hearing that those aren't great for thick walled tubes like the one I have. (PrimoChill PrimoFlex PRO LRT Tubing 1/2"ID 3/4"OD with 1/8" Wall - UV Red)

Barbs:1/2"
Tube ID: 1/2"
Tube OD: 3/4"
Tube Wall: 1/8"

Thank you =)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 01:24 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Zip ties work well for hose.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 01:32 PM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

I've got the same tubing but in blue and I used the metal Koolance clamps. No complaints and they looks very nice.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 01:42 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,792

My System Specs

Default

As far as the size is concerned.... 3/4" OD is the outer dimension of your tubing.... anything designed with that in mind should work fine.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 01:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandelioneater View Post
Zip ties work well for hose.
Thanks, I thought about zip ties but they are kinda hard to take off if I do need to quickly make a change.

Quote:
I've got the same tubing but in blue and I used the metal Koolance clamps. No complaints and they looks very nice.
I also got these Koolance spring clamps and I pm'ed a question about them if you don't mind.

Quote:
As far as the size is concerned.... 3/4" OD is the outer dimension of your tubing.... anything designed with that in mind should work fine.
Thanks, will check to see if home hardware has any for this size. =)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 04:48 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 646

My System Specs

Default

Alternate solution: use 7/16 inner diameter tube instead of 1/2'' . You can then pressure fit it without clamps.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 06:13 PM
Amarthfea's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London, ON
Posts: 130

My System Specs

Default

I'd advise against pressure fitting tubing, even pros who do pressure fitting still suggest using a tiny ziptie for safety.

Home hardware, CT, whatever your local hardware store is will have adjustable gear clamps (it'll be something like 1/2" - 1"). if you don't crank them down to hard they are a easy for multiple uses.

Although after about a year they do start to bite into the tubing, but realistically you should be cleaning your loop at least once a year anyways
__________________
~Elysium, I behold your beauty...

Last edited by Amarthfea; December 19, 2011 at 06:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 07:07 PM
matari's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 126
Default

Rule 1: Always use a clamp.

I would use Koolance clamps only on a barb or nozzle that is mostly cylindrical. You're asking for trouble putting those clamps on a typical bitspower barb.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 09:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for tips everyone. I'll try it and get back to you on the results after a couple leak tests.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2011, 03:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,491

My System Specs

Default

i like teh koolance clamps myself.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
barbs , clamps , hose , tube , watercooling

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard types "w " when i press "w" matthew2180 Troubleshooting 14 December 20, 2011 10:21 AM
How do i know if my "Drive Controller" is running in "AHCI mode"? Teo3201 Storage 2 October 8, 2011 10:54 PM
"Wii 2" Codenamed: "Project Cafe" BFighter Gaming 5 April 24, 2011 11:16 AM
3d Vision goes from "gimmick" to "ubiquitous" The RealRollo Video Cards 28 October 21, 2010 04:55 PM
You-Tube Human "Pixels" Perform Live Animation sswilson Off Topic 14 June 29, 2009 09:02 PM