Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 02:33 AM
Sleal's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default New WC Loop...something's not right

Alright guys so I recently put together a kit to keep my vid cards cold when gaming; Problem is, I can't even play BF3 on ultra with a watercooled 6870 crossfire combo? That just seems stupid. Especially when there are people using 1 580 and getting BF3 to run on ultra no problem. Both cards have been pushed to 950/1095 but it still doesn't seem to be enough.

The GPU's are looped in series after the cpu so one card is about 10* hotter than the other but neither one goes past 66-68 when gaming.

System specs are:
i5 760 @3.6
EVGA P55 SLI
2x XFX 6870

XSPC RASA CPU block
XSPC RS360 rad with 3 XSPC fans push and 3 yate loon fans pull
2x EK 6870 FC waterblocks
XSPC DDC 3.25 pump/resevoir

Something tells me that I should have much better performance than what I'm seeing... I'm pretty certain all the air pockets are out of the system but its hard to tell. Oh, and I've already wiped all drivers and reinstalled again to rule that out.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Intel i5 760 | EVGA P55 SLI | G.Skill Ripjaws PC2-16000 2X2GB | XFX HD R7970 Black Edition
Corsair HX1000 | Intel X25-V SSD | Corsair 600D | Custom Watercooled | W7 64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 09:21 AM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

I don't know man, I'm just thinking that the 6870s in CF just aren't enough for BF3 on ultra.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 09:28 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,772

My System Specs

Default

I have a feeling crossfire is your problem here. In IRC I heard a lot of bitching about AMD cards causing headaches. Hell, Arinoth sold his dual 6970's and went NVIDIA.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 09:32 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

Is BF3 not running, or are you just not getting the FPS you think you should? Or are you more concerned about the temps? What resolution are you gaming at? About the only thing I'd consider changing in your loop is the pump. You might need a D5 to up the flow rate through 3 blocks.

And while my 580 would run ultra settings at 1920x1080, it certainly won't at 2560x1600.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 10:33 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

what one hotter last in loop ?

I'd check WB's for EK famine disease or tweak block screws a bit more/less till find sweat spot

IMHO would go parrelle on GPU's an rest serial with DDC pump

Last edited by KaptCrunch; December 14, 2011 at 10:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2011, 05:36 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

If you can run the game, but you want more FPS, then ocing is the only way i see aside from upgrading the gpu. Try to get your cpu in the 4,0 ghz zone, and oc the gpus till they do not cooperate anymore. Check if the temps are acceptable, which should be, as you're under water.

If you cannot run it (or it runs at stupid FPS, like 1-2), the drivers are probably the problem.

Keep in mind that the 6870 only has 1 gb of gddr5, so if you're in the best details possible territory (which you are if i understand you), that is gonna be the thing holding you back.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2011, 05:49 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

CPU is maxed out, needs more overclock. (used to own CF 5870's)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2011, 06:06 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

I would strongly advise upgrading to 8GB of RAM (or more). That will likely give you some FPS gain.

If it's still not enough though, then unfortunately it's time to buy different GPU's. ATI's 7000 series is due in Q1 2012, so maybe look into buying those.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 12:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,423

My System Specs

Default

How does the 6870 stack up to the 6970? My buddy is running the latter and has NO issues.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 12:37 PM
matari's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 126
Default

Check to see if blocks are installed correctly. Possible that the cards are overheating and throttling down.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Loop or Dual Loop? Pump enough for single? MattC Water Cooling 5 May 31, 2011 07:19 PM
I may add a rad or a second loop botat29 Water Cooling 6 April 3, 2011 07:36 PM
Do I have everything I need for WC loop? ADay2Long Water Cooling 15 August 6, 2010 09:34 PM
Another loop order, single/dual loop thread... turtletrax Water Cooling 8 July 28, 2010 08:40 PM
My Soon-To-Be loop Kopi Water Cooling 5 October 23, 2007 12:49 PM