Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 11:52 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 473

My System Specs

Default D5 w/ EK top + 3 x 360 rads

Hey guys/gal

I have the vario 655 w/ EK top and i was wondering, is there enough pressure for the D5 to push water through 3 x 360 rads for a decent temp?

I have no problem splitting my loop for CPU and GPU. But if i can go by one pump, that'll be great - if not i guess i have redundancy .

Specs are:

(2) XSPC 6970 WB
1 EK Supreme HF
D5 Vario + EK top
(2) swiftech 360 rad
(1) 360 rad (not sure what yet)

or

(3) swiftech 360 rad



Thanks!
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2011, 12:09 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
Hey guys/gal

I have the vario 655 w/ EK top and i was wondering, is there enough pressure for the D5 to push water through 3 x 360 rads for a decent temp?

I have no problem splitting my loop for CPU and GPU. But if i can go by one pump, that'll be great - if not i guess i have redundancy .

Specs are:

(2) XSPC 6970 WB
1 EK Supreme HF
D5 Vario + EK top
(2) swiftech 360 rad
(1) 360 rad (not sure what yet)

or

(3) swiftech 360 rad



Thanks!
I have a 355 pushing pretty much the same thing, but 2 rads. I think you would be fine, just crank the speed!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2011, 12:16 AM
Linus's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Default

3 rads in parallel would dramatically reduce the restriction, but I doubt it would affect the performance much.
__________________
Please note: I am not here to provide official NCIX support on these forums.

For faster (and official) NCIX service please contact our customer care team at www.NCIX.com (Canada) or www.NCIXUS.com (USA)

Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=25647
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2011, 12:30 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,801

My System Specs

Default

Radiators don't add that much restriction. The hd6950 blocks definitely will be the most restrictive part of your loop. But chances are the d5 will be able to handle it nicely.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2011, 01:16 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 473

My System Specs

Default

Ok, thanks guy!
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2011, 02:14 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

other question is where are palcing the rads ? internal or ex
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2011, 07:14 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 473

My System Specs

Default

External. Wish i could fit 2 more (360) rad inside my Corsair 800D.
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mixing rads Raftus Water Cooling 3 December 8, 2012 04:30 AM
ThermoChill Rads - Why so cheap? zoob Water Cooling 5 November 16, 2009 07:14 PM
how many rads can a 655 push through Shadowmeph Water Cooling 40 September 20, 2009 10:08 PM
[WTB] Thermochill rads Frank Booth Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 20, 2009 06:08 PM
Two Rads? Infiniti Water Cooling 20 June 14, 2008 05:55 PM