Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2008, 07:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Barrie
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default Swiftech Apogee GT question

I just installed the Swiftech Apogee GT on my computer and the results are not impressive at all, is it possible that I'm not having a good connection with the CPU, or maybe something else????

I have a AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600 2.4Ghz, it's overclocked to 2.7Ghz, and with the Thermaltake Blue Orb at load I was getting 51C, now with the Apogee GT, it's only lowering the temp. to 49C. And at idle it's pretty much the same 31C

Thanks
__________________
AMD Phenon II X4 965 3.4Ghz
Motherboard: Asus M4A78-E
Memory: Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR2
Video Card: Nvidia 8800GT
Harddisk: 2 x Western digital
CD/DVD Drive: Asus
Monitor: LG Flatron W2353V
Case: Thermaltake Armor
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy
PSU: Thermaltake TWV 500W
Software: Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2008, 07:50 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

What are the components and what is the loop you built? Do you have a pic?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2008, 07:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Barrie
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

I started off with my with 1900xtx, which I got great results.

Here are all the parts:

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...tercooled.html
__________________
AMD Phenon II X4 965 3.4Ghz
Motherboard: Asus M4A78-E
Memory: Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR2
Video Card: Nvidia 8800GT
Harddisk: 2 x Western digital
CD/DVD Drive: Asus
Monitor: LG Flatron W2353V
Case: Thermaltake Armor
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy
PSU: Thermaltake TWV 500W
Software: Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2008, 12:58 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,226

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I'd definately try another mount of the WB.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2008, 06:42 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Ok, you have some quality parts - but where you install the CPU block in the loop has a huge influence on temps.

Right now looks like you have: t-line - pump- rad - GPU - t-line. Where did you fit the CPU block in there?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2008, 08:15 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,798

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Ok, you have some quality parts - but where you install the CPU block in the loop has a huge influence on temps.

Right now looks like you have: t-line - pump- rad - GPU - t-line. Where did you fit the CPU block in there?
Actually it really doesn't affect temperatures much at all. It is called thermal equilibrium. All the water in the entire loop is going to be within 1-2C of each other no matter where it is in the loop.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2008, 08:29 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Except that you want your liquid to be as close as possible to the ambiant temp prior to hitting the CPU block, and that will happen right after the rad. It's called Thermodynamics.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2008, 08:59 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,244

My System Specs

Default

Did you "Bow" the GT? If so were the pins oriented the correct way?
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2008, 02:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Barrie
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

I triple checked the pins on the WB were in the right direction.
I have it going:
Pump-Rad-CPU-GPU-Pump

I'm going to remove it to make sure there is a good connection between the WB and CPU

Thanks guys.
__________________
AMD Phenon II X4 965 3.4Ghz
Motherboard: Asus M4A78-E
Memory: Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR2
Video Card: Nvidia 8800GT
Harddisk: 2 x Western digital
CD/DVD Drive: Asus
Monitor: LG Flatron W2353V
Case: Thermaltake Armor
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy
PSU: Thermaltake TWV 500W
Software: Windows 7
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bowing the Apogee GT Cptn Vortex Guides & How-to's 10 April 29, 2008 04:57 AM
Swiftech offering free backplate with apogee GT, GTX Babrbarossa Water Cooling 5 March 16, 2008 09:58 AM
Tec water chiller using Apogee gt's kirk_d Water Cooling 1 February 25, 2008 12:36 PM
Swiftech APOGEE Drive JD Water Cooling 14 August 16, 2007 10:35 PM